Government Information: A Civics Refresher
Get Started
These resources provide information about the history and organization of the US Federal Government. It also highlights tools that will allow you to become involved in civic activities.
- iCivics"iCivics is a web-based education project designed to teach students civics and inspire them to be active participants in our democracy. iCivics is the vision of Justice Sandra Day O'Connor..."
- The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History (Ebook)A great resource for background information, or brushing up on the basics of American history, government, and politics from colonial times through the election of President Obama in 2008.
- Civics Flash Cards for the New Naturalization Test - OnlineIncludes the 100 civics (history and government) questions and answers for the naturalization test. Also available in print.
- Volunteering and Civic Life in America 2012This site is home to the most comprehensive look at volunteering and civic life in the 50 states and 51 cities across the country. Data includes volunteer rates and rankings, civic engagement trends, and analysis.
Top Resources
- The Oxford Guide to the United States Government (Ebook)Available online this resource contains words, concepts and names related to the United States Government such as those you commonly hear and read in the news. You'll find short entries about Presidents and Supreme Court Justices (current through 2001) by searching by last name. Look up major supreme court cases or find out the real meaning of "pork barrel politics" in this resource!
These reference sources provide an excellent overview of the structure and function of the United States Government.
- The United States Government Manual (1995-present)This is the official handbook of the federal government. The manual beings with reprints of the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence, and goes on to provide "comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches."
Contacting Elected Officials
- Contacting Elected Officials: USA.govContact information for state and federal elected officials.
- Contact the White HouseFind contact information for calling or writing questions, comments, concerns, or well-wishes to the President or his staff. Another option is to send an email using the form found on the same page.
- Contact Your SenatorThis Senate directory provides a mailing address and web contact form for each U.S. Senator.
- Find Your RepresentativeThis service will assist you by identifying your congressperson in the U.S. House of Representatives and providing contact information.
Civics
Civics: noun (plural) The study of the rights and duties of citizenship.
Defintion from Google Dictionary
Suggested Reading
A Historical Guide to the U.S. GovernmentCall Number: JK9 .H57 1998 -2nd Floor Reference CollectionISBN: 0195102304
Parties and Policies: How the American Government Works (Ebook) by ISBN: 0300137621
