Government Information: Data & Statistics
General Statistics Search
-
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Published by the Census from 1878-2012.
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
- Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States
This link opens in a new window
Maintains the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. - Historical Statistics of the United States - Millennial EditionConsists of U.S. demographic and economic statistics from colonial times to the present.
- Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to access current and historical U.S. Census data and demographic information. It contains maps, profile reports, data elements, and variables. - OECD iLibraryProvides full text access to books, journals, and statistical databases produced by Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's (OECD) online library.
- PolicyMap
- This link opens in a new window
Provides mapping, data, and analytics tools on U.S. demographics, real estate, health, jobs, education, and more topics. Mapping allows for multiple layers and editable data ranges.
- Census QuickFactsThe QuickFacts data access tool provides users with easy access to basic population, business, and geography statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people. This resource is appropriate for use by students.
- Explore Census DataThe Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Compiled Statistical Sources Online
- Historical Statistics of the United States - Millennial EditionConsists of U.S. demographic and economic statistics from colonial times to the present.
- Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
Maintains the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. - Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to access current and historical U.S. Census data and demographic information. It contains maps, profile reports, data elements, and variables.
- County and city data book 1947-2007Continued in Print
State Agency Databases
- State Agency DatabasesIn every US State and the District of Columbia, agencies are creating databases of useful information - information on businesses, licensed professionals, plots of land, even dates of fish stocking. Some of this content is available on search engines, but much of it is part of the invisible web. Since July 2007, librarians and other government information specialists have been working on identifying and annotating these databases in order to have them accessible in one place.
Subject Statistics
For a full list of Government data sources by agency, see the Statistical programs of the United States government and Statistical Programs & Standards.
Agriculture
Children and Families
Crime
Economics
Education
Energy & Environment
Federal Budget
Health
Immigration
Labor
Safety
Transportation
Census Data
Sources of current and historical census data:
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
- Federal Statistical Research Data CentersFederal Statistical Research Data Centers are partnerships between federal statistical agencies and leading research institutions. They are secure facilities providing authorized access to restricted-use microdata for statistical purposes only.
- National Historical Geographic Information SystemThe NHGIS provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010.
- Statistical Abstract of the US - HistoricalThe Statistical Abstract of the United States has been published since 1878. It is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other federal agencies and private organizations
-
IPUMS USA digitized published census volumesThe Census Bureau regularly releases published books of tables within a few years of the enumeration of each census. These books usually contain regular data series tabulated for the entire country and usually all states, counties, and major cities. This site contains links to scans of all available published census volumes in PDF format.
Compiled Statistics Sources in Print
Datapedia of the United States by Call Number: PSU Library Reference Collection -- 2nd floor HA202 .K87 2007ISBN: 9781598880830Publication Date: 2007-10-30Presents available data and statistics on social, economic, political, and cultural developments in such areas as energy, housing, and health care. Content:
Population -- Immigration and migration -- Births and deaths -- Marriage, divorce and alternative living arrangements -- Land, water, and climate -- Agriculture -- Forestry and fisheries -- Minerals and natural resources -- Energy -- Labor -- Construction and housing -- Manufacturing -- Transportation -- Communications -- Productivity and technological development -- Distribution and services -- Health -- Food and nutrition -- Social welfare -- Criminal justice -- Education and learning -- Arts, entertainment, recreation, and travel -- National income and wealth -- Consumer income and expenditures -- Business enterprise -- Financial markets and institutions -- Public finance -- International transactions and foreign commerce -- Politics and elections -- Government: federal, state, and local -- National security.- County and city data book (print)Call Number: Basement HA202 .A36Most recent issue: Reference Collection -- 2nd floor HA202 .A36
- State and metropolitan area data book.Call Number: HA202 .S84ISBN: 02766566Contains data similar to that found in the County and City Databook, but on the state and MSA (Metropolitan Statistical Areas) levels.
Basement HA202 .S84
Most current: Reference Collection -- 2nd floor HA202 .S84 - County and city extra : annual metro, city, and county data book.Call Number: PSU Library Reference Collection -- 2nd floor HA203 .C68ISBN: 10599096This trusted reference compiles information from many sources to provide all the key demographic and economic data for every state, county, metropolitan area, congressional district, and for all cities in the United States with a 2010 population of 25,000 or more. In one volume , you can conveniently find data from 1990 to 2019 in easy-to-read tables. The annual updating of County and City Extra for 28 years ensures its stature as a reliable and authoritative source for information. No other resource compiles this amount of detailed information into one place.
Subjects covered in County and City Extra include:
Population by age and race
Government finances
Income and poverty
Manufacturing, trade, and services
Crime
Housing
Education
Immigration and migration
Labor force and employment
Agriculture, land, and water
Residential construction
Health resources
Voting and elections
The main body of this volume contains five basic parts and covers the following areas:
Part A-States
Part B-Counties
Part C-Metropolitan areas
Part D-Cities with a 2010 census population of 25,000 or more
Part E-Congressional districts
Acknowledgements
Adapted from the University of Pittsburgh, University Library's United States Government Information @Pitt:Data and Statistics guide created by Christopher Lemery, Liaison Librarian - History, Political Science, Urban Studies & Government Information.