Government Information: Other Nations, IGOs & NGOs

Country Profiles

Europa World and/or the Regional Surveys of the World
Covers political and economic information about countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

BBC Country Profiles
Profiles the history, politics, media, economic conditions, & statistical data for nations.
CIA World Factbook
Detailed information on communications, economic conditions, geography, government, people, military, transportation, & transnational issues for nearly all nations.
Background Notes
Information on economic conditions, geography, government & political conditions, history, people, & U.S. relations for all nations. Compiled by the U.S. Department of State.
Country Studies - Library of Congress
Foreign Information By Country - Portal > UCB
International Statistics Agencies
Key Development Data & Statistics (World Bank)
Nations of the World (Library of Congress)
US Census > International Database
Statistical profiles of nations. Compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Government of Canada Documents
Gateway to publications produced by the departments of the Government of Canada. Keyword options.
Official Documents of The United Nations
http://documents.un.org/
GATT Digital Library: 1947-1994
This Stanford University Libraries digital library provides access to documents and information of and about the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT)
UNBISNET: United Nations Bibliographic Information System
Full-text access to documents in the catalogue of the Library of the United Nations. Keyword options in six languages.
UNData
Created by the United Nations (UN) Dept. of Economic and Social Affairs, this resource pulls together 60 years of UN statistical data.
Gapminer
International data and trends reflecting quality of life including income, poverty levels, mortality, literacy, and employment, to name a few.
UN Documents Tutorials - Dag Hammerskold Library

What is an IGO?

An international IGO is a group of sovereign states, often established through a treaty, with mutual intersests which works toward a unified goal.

IGO Directory (University of Colorado)
Created by the Government Publications Library, U. of Colorado Libraries. Note: Some resources and information is unique to the U of Colorado Libraries only.

WANGO - World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations
WANGO is "an international organization uniting NGOs worldwide in the cause of advancing peace and global well being." The NGO Handbook, and Worldwide NGO Directory are recommended.
Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) (UC Berkeley)
Provided by University of California Berkeley Library; find links to guides and directories for International NGOs, Regional NGOs, as well as NGOs & the UN.

An NGO, or Non-governmental Organization, is an organization focused on humanitarian issues, often social problems with a political aspect (eg. human rights, relief services, women's rights).
NGOs may receive partial or full funding from governments (including Inter-Governmental Organizations) but are not directly part of the structure of any government. NGOs also generally exclude government representatives from membership.

What kind of information do international NGOs produce?

Here are some resources for learning more about elections and how they are used in other countries around the world.

Elections Resources on the Internet
In English and Spanish, offering worldwide updated listings of current national electoral schedules and results.