Policy Research: Bills & Laws
- ProQuest CongressionalContains citations and full text to U.S. legislative information from 1970 to the present, with additional coverage of Congressional hearings from 1824 to 1979.
- Nexis UniIncludes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents.
- govinfoThe U.S. Government Printing Office's (GPO) govinfo is an advanced digital system that provides access to government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It replaces GPO's FDsys digital system.
- Congress.gov"Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public."
- Congressional Research Service ReportsCRS, a division of the Library of Congress, provides high-quality research and analysis for members of Congress. The reports created by CRS staff are succinct and well-researched. Links provided by Gallagher Law Library, University Of Washington
- Homeland Security Digital LibraryCovers the field of homeland security, which includes topics such as terrorism, public health, borders and immigration, intelligence, civil liberties, weapons and the military.
- Federal Register - 1936-present (online, various access points)Call Number: AE 2.106 - 4th Floor and Online
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations. Older issues of the Federal Register are interesting historical sources.
- Oregon State LegislatureSearch current bills and laws, the Oregon Revised Statutes, and find information about Oregon Legislative Committees.
- Oregon State ArchivesFind records to archival documents from the state of Oregon. Also links to information about records held by state agencies in Oreogn.
City & County Policy
- City of PortlandThe city of Portland's official website. Find committee meeting agendas and minutes, reports, publications and more from the city's bureaus.
- City of Portland Archives & Records CenterHoldings include records generated by the City of Portland, including elected officials’ papers, department reports, planning maps, Ordinances and Resolutions, budget information, correspondence, and photos. Located on the 5h floor of the ASRC Building at PSU.
- MetroMetro is a collaborative agency between cities and counties in Multnomah, Washington, and Clackamas counties. Use the site to find Metro council documents and reports.
Click to Search all state websites
Multnomah | Washington | Clackamas | Clark (WA) | All Oregon Counties
Cities: Portland | Vancouver, WA | Salem | Eugene | More...
Access Washington (state web portal)
For more regional information see:
Pacific Northwest State and Local Resources
Researching Current Federal Legislation and Regulations
- Researching Current Federal Legislation and Regulations: A Guide to Resources for Congressional StaffThis CRS Report was designed to introduce congressional staff to selected governmental and nongovernmental sources that are useful in tracking and obtaining information on federal legislation and regulations.
by Amy Stanforth Last Updated Feb 16, 2023 581 views this year
by Dwight Mears (PSU) Last Updated Feb 21, 2023 398 views this year
by Dwight Mears (PSU) Last Updated Nov 3, 2022 43 views this year