Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get Started Evaluating
As discussed on the What is Policy? page, public policy is circular. As such, any evaluation of a policy's impact will need to reflect this circular nature. Look for:
- resources produced by advocacy organizations, think tanks, and watchdog groups. These may provide detailed analysis of policies and their impacts.
- Evaluative reports and statistics produced by government bodies that may have analyzed policy; and, finally,
- scholarly articles reporting research on policies, their impact, and implementations.
Advocacy Search Engines
American Policy Directory
Analysis and advocacy on a wide range of topics derived from think-tanks and advocacy organization across the United States.
Oregon Policy Directory
University of Oregon's Oregon Policy Directory points to numerous sites regarding Oregon Policy.
Contains free access to case studies, evaluations, white papers, annual reports, issue briefs, and numerous other materials addressing the world's social problems that include aging, crime and safety, government reports, nonprofit and philanthropy, race and ethnicity, and transportation.
Provides indexed access to government grey literature and reports from national and international governmental agencies.
The Policy Surveillance Program
"LawAtlas.org is the flagship policy surveillance website of the Center for Public Health Law Research (CPHLR) at Temple University’s Beasley School of Law. Datasets on LawAtlas.org use policy surveillance to capture the characteristics of laws and policies of public health significance. "
Search across Federal and State Websites
The USA.gov website allows you to search multiple federal and state agency website and reports.
United States Government Accountability Office
The investigative arm of Congress. GAO exists to support the Congress in meeting its Constitutional responsibilities and to help improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the American people. GAO examines the use of public funds, evaluates federal programs and activities, and provides analyses, options, recommendations, and other assistance to help the Congress make effective oversight, policy, and funding decisions.
Contains full text scholarly and peer-reviewed articles covering all areas of law.
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)
Covers public affairs, public and social policy, and international relations. Includes national and international journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, and pertinent web sites.
Public Affairs Index
Provides indexing on national and global contemporary public policy issues.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes articles related to political institutions, international law and politics, public policy, public administration, political theory, and political economics. Indexes sources from 1975 to the present.
LiberGov Search is a custom Google Search created by Stanford University Libraries. It searches freely available, public domain government information from legislative and legislators' websites, social media accounts, NGOs, and news sources. For a full list of its contents visit LiberGov's documentation.