Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In This Guide
This guide will help you begin your research in Engineering and Technology Management through the libraries' collections and beyond.
Use the tabs to navigate through the following pages of the guide:
- Find Articles - search for articles online and in print. Recommends the best resources for finding Engineering and Technology Management articles.
- Reports & Dissertations - find technical reports, government reports, books, dissertations and theses.
- Conference Proceedings - find conference proceedings and options for getting the materials and information on citation formats, citation management tools and more
- Standards - find sources for technical information and specifications
- Organizations & Web Sources - find professional organizations, scholarly societies and other quality web resources.
Core Online Library Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your research
Business Source Premier
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information.
Maintains citations and abstracts for engineering and the applied sciences up through 1968.
In-depth reports on US industries.
Business Insights: Global
Provides company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, investment reports, articles, financials, and case studies.
Indexes full text IEEE and IET journals, conference proceedings, and standards.
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Web of Science
Maintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
Industry classification systems are created to promote data comparability. NAICS (current version) and SIC (older version) are the most widely used in the United States. You can search by classification codes to find information on industries or sectors in many books, databases, and government websites. However, NAICS and SIC focus on broader industry activities and may not have a specific code for niche/emerging industries. Many databases also have their own classification systems.
NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
Standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. NAICS codes are assigned by different research firms and therefore each company may have different codes in different databases.
SIC (Standard Industrial Classification)
Older system (doesn't cover industries that emerged after 1987). However, a company must declare its primary SIC in Form S-1
when filing to go public.