Athletic & Outdoor Industry: Company Info
Company Profiles
Recommended
- Business Insights: Global
This link opens in a new window
Provides company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, investment reports, articles, financials, and case studies. - Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed information on US and international public companies. - Mergent Market AtlasMergent Online (the platform) will sunset on June 30, 2025 and be partially replaced by Mergent Market Atlas, which provides the same search capabilities and detailed company profiles on both US and international public companies. In addition, company profiles now include ESG ratings.
- Business Source Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information.
Others
- PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
Business and financial information on US-based private companies. Searchable by companies, investors, funding, and M&A deals.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create a personal account using your PDX email - Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides profiles of U.S. companies, health care providers, nonprofit organizations, and government agencies. - Investext (via Mergent Online)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports cover financials and analysis on companies and select industries. - Passport (by Euromonitor)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides profiles on select (mostly large) companies. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics from over 18,000 free and proprietary sources on a wide range of topics such as business, media, and demographics.
Earnings Conference Calls - Transcripts
Earnings Conference Calls provide insights on a public company's strategies, responses to issues, as well as industry environment and competition. Transcripts may be freely available on company website along with audio and presentations, or through a Google search. Main sources for transcripts:
- FD (Fair Disclosure) Wire (via Nexis Uni)Use the following search terms: [company name] [quarter number] [year] call. For example: Starbucks Q3 2017 call.
- Motley FoolsProvides transcripts of the most recent earnings calls for the companies that they cover.
Additional Resources
PSU Library does NOT provide access to these resources. They are listed for your reference only.
- Sports Market Place DirectoryDirectory of sports-related companies: manufacturers, retailers, facilities, professional services, sponsors, etc.
- Mergent IntellectAvailable from the Multnomah County Library with a free library card. Basic information on public and private companies with "as reported" financials (if available).
- PrivCoProvides business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations. * PSU doesn't subscribe to it so you have to purchase your own report."
Company Research
Key Resources for Private Company Research
Company Profiles:
- PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
Business and financial information on US-based private companies. Searchable by companies, investors, funding, and M&A deals.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create a personal account using your PDX email - Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
- This link opens in a new window
For BIG to SMALL private companies. Sales and business expenditures data are estimates.
- Hoover's In-Depth Company ReportsFor BIG private companies. Search by company name. Accessed via Nexis Uni.
- Portland Business Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Portland Business Journal (and other city business journals) and Book of Lists. You must create an individual account to access.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create an account using your PDX email - Investext (via Mergent Online)
- This link opens in a new window
Covers select private firms. Use the Keyword search field (instead of the default Company search field) in the dropdown menu.
Industry Benchmarks:
- RMA Statement Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Provides financial ratio benchmarks data (norms and ratios) and industry default probablity data. This is the online version of the RMA annual statement studies.
Non-PSU Resources:
- Crunchbase (limited free data)Company directory that covers startups and other private companies. Also offers free or discounted access to their full data through their Academic Research Access Program (faculty and graduate students only).
- Mergent IntellectAvailable from the Multnomah County Library with a free library card. Basic information on public and private companies with "as reported" financials (if available).
- OwlerCrowdsourced company data and news alerts.
Sustainable Apparel Coalition Higgs Index
- Sustainable Apparel Coalition Higg IndexA suite of tools that enables brands, retailers, and facilities of all sizes to accurately measure and score a company or product’s sustainability performance.