Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Organizations & Associations
International Society for Third-Sector Research
"Major international association promoting research and education in the fields of civil society, philanthropy, and the nonprofit sector." The site contains papers delivered at conferences and hosts other publications. It also serves as a resource for the community.
Union of International Associations
The UIA researches, monitors, and provides information about international non-governmental associations and organizations.
Institute of International Education
IIE creates programs of study and training for students, educators and professionals from all sectors, including the Fulbright program. The organization also conducts policy research.
Suggested Search Strategies
When looking for books or doing other literature searches, the following keywords may be helpful:
Remember that you can also use keywords to help craft more topical searches. For example, if you were searching for information about NGOs working for water quality, you might construct a search including keywords to capture both ideas.
Consider also combining your search with subjects. Selected subjects in the PSU Library Catalog listed below may be useful.
- non-governmental organizations
- international organization
- international cooperation
Sometimes you find the most relevant results by using a combination of keywords and subjects.
It's important to search by subject only if you already know what is the subject. Consider first using keyword searches until you see specified subjects that may help you limit your search.
Library Subscribed Resources
EIU Viewpoint (Economist Intelligence Unit)
Reports on country commerce, country finance, and doing business in various countries. Now called EIU Viewpoint
Provides full text access to books, journals, and statistical databases produced by Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's (OECD) online library.
Yearbook of International Organizations by
Call Number: JX1904 .A42 -- 3rd Floor
Encyclopedia of International Organizations by
Call Number: HS17 .E5135 -- 3rd Floor
Encyclopedia of Associations by
Call Number: HS17 .E5 -- 3rd Floor
Guide to IGO's, NGO's and the Military in Peace and Relief Operations by
Call Number: JZ4850 .A17 2000 -- 2nd Floor Reference Collection
NGOs in International Politics by
Call Number: JZ4841 .A36 2006 -- 3rd Floor
NGO Management by
Call Number: HD62.6 .N52 2010 -- Basement