Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NCNB provides resources, programs, and services to the nonprofit community to help them strengthen their boards. Site contains information on NCNB's publications, membership, training, education, and board resources, including NCNB's large archived of FAQs on board roles and responsi
John Carver's site on the Policy Governance Model for nonprofit boards. Includes explanations of the model, reprints of articles, publications, discussion forums, and services.
Free Toolkit for Boards of Directors
A large collection of helpful tools maintained by Dr. Carter McNamara at the Management Assistance Program for Nonprofits, St. Paul, MN.
Center for Nonprofit Stewardship
"The Center for Nonprofit Stewardship is an organization that educates and empowers nonprofit board members in sound financial, administrative and organizational stewardship."
Association for Fundraising Professionals
Formerly the National Association for Fund Raising Executives, the AFP's website contains sections on public policy, ethics, and publications as well as an extensive resource center.
"The Foundation Center is the leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide. Through data, analysis, and training, it connects people who want to change the world to the resources they need to succeed."
"GiveWell’s mission is to find outstanding giving opportunities and publish the full details of our analysis to help donors decide where to give."
Service Leader's Virtual Volunteering Project
The Virtual Volunteering Project works to encourage and assist in the development of volunteer activities that can be completed via the Internet. The site provides resources and information on virtual volunteerism and a monthly electronic newsletter on virtual volunteering called Virtual Verve.
Created by Impact Online, this site utilizes the power of the Internet to help individuals nationwide find in person and "virtual" volunteer opportunities posted by local nonprofit and public sector organizations. Visitors can search the opportunities database according to distance from home, time of event, duration of commitment, and category of organization.
Idealist is a project of Action Without Borders, a nonprofit organization founded in 1995 with offices in the United States and Argentina. Idealist is an interactive site where people and organizations can exchange resources and ideas, locate opportunities and supporters, and take steps toward building a world where all people can lead free and dignified lives.
Volunteering and Civic Life in America
Comprehensive look at volunteering and civic life in the 50 states and 51 cities across the country. Data includes volunteer rates and rankings, civic engagement trends, and analysis.