BA 301 Research & Analysis of Business Problems: Articles
Research Tips
How is your company portrayed in the media? Do a quick search on your company in major newspapers like the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, or the Financial Times, or alternatively, do a Google News search (use Google Advanced Search to get better results).
- Search for the name of the company in the article headline
- Limit your search to the last six months (or shorter if you get too many results)
Nexis Uni has a specific search filter called Negative News.
Articles that talk about problems don’t necessarily use the word “problem." Read up on the company, its competitors, and its environment. Problems will likely emerge as you gain a comprehensive and holistic view of the current position the company is in. When you have a more defined scope (e.g., is it labor, environmental practices, branding, or...?), use specific keywords in Business Source Premier, Nexis Uni, or Google to find more evidence to support your argument.
Business Articles
Search databases across multiple publications:
- Business Source Premier
This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information. - Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents. - Regional Business NewsComprised of full text articles from local business publications, newspapers, and newswires in the U.S.
- Business Insights: Global
- This link opens in a new window
Provides company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, investment reports, articles, financials, and case studies. - U.S. Major DailiesProvides full text access to: The Chicago Tribune (1985-present), The Los Angeles Times (1985-present), The New York Times (1980-present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and The Washington Post (1987-present). Closed captions are available. Interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.
- Ulrichs International Periodicals Directory** No full text articles ** This is a database to discover relevant trade journals on a topic and which databases cover them.
Direct access to specific publications:
- Wall Street JournalOffers full text articles in The Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition, 1984-present) and the online edition (2010-present ), excluding stock quotes and classified ads. Updated daily.
- Financial TimesProvides online access to the Financial Times Newspaper. You must create an individual account to access.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create an account using your PDX email - Portland Business Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Portland Business Journal (and other city business journals) and Book of Lists. You must create an individual account to access.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create an account using your PDX email - Daily Journal of CommerceCovers construction news, real estate, urban planning, energy, and transportation news for the greater Portland, Oregon metropolitan area. PSU faculty/staff/students please log in with your PSU (ODIN) ID to view username/password. Visitors please contact the Reference Desk.
- The EconomistLimited access to current articles (1988-). PSU does NOT have a full subscription.
- Economist Historical Archive 1843-2015Maintains the Economist full text, the British weekly newspaper that focuses on business, international events, and opinion pieces.
- OregonianProvide the Oregonian from 1987 for text access and 2017 for image access until present day.
- Bloomberg TerminalBloomberg Terminal includes news.
Journal Title Search
Finding Recent Articles in the Library Catalog Video
This video demonstrates how to find recent newspaper and peer reviewed articles in the Portland State University Library Catalog.