Urban Honors Program: Citing Sources
Online Citation Guides
Citation Management Tool: Zotero
Zotero is a citation management application that allows you to collect book and article citations from the library catalog and other databases. Zotero also connects with your word processor (MS Word, Google Docs, Libre Office) to insert in text citations and generate a reference list in your selected citation style.
See the library guide, Manage Citations with Zotero, on how to use this tool. The Library provides workshops and support for Zotero.
- ZoteroZotero is a free open source citation management tool
Print Style Guides in the PSU Library
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: Reference Collection -- 1st floor ; Z253 .C57 17th 2017Publication Date: 2017
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: Course Reserves, Circulation; Reference Collection -- 1st floor ; BF76.7 .P83 2020Publication Date: 2020
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Call Number: Reference Collection -- 1st floor ; LB2369 .T8 2018Publication Date: 2018
Selected Online Citation Guides
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineProvides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Funded by donors to the Dean's Fund for Excellence in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.
- Citing Government DocumentsGuides to citing government documents in APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian styles.
- OWL - Purdue's Online Writing LabDetailed guide to APA, MLA, and Chicago citation styles. Navigate to "Research and Citation" on the left to access citation style help.
Cite Articles from Ebsco Databases
Many databases have built-in citation generators. The EbscoHost databases include a Cite link in each full record.
Cite Books and Articles from the PSU Library Catalog
When searching in the PSU Library catalog, you can find a citation generator for MLA, APA, or the Chicago Manual of Style by selecting Citation under the Share headline.
