Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Urban Studies Resources
In addition to the databases on the Find Articles page, the following databases will be good places to find scholarly articles, reports and other useful documents for Urban Studies research.
Social Services Abstracts
Includes citations of journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)
Covers public affairs, public and social policy, and international relations. Includes national and international journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, and pertinent web sites.
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to access current and historical U.S. Census data and demographic information. It contains maps, profile reports, data elements, and variables.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Archives social science data that includes aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science as well as public and mental health.
America: History and Life
Includes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Annual Reviews Online
Composed of full text, research reviews of current and emerging topics in a variety of disciplines including the biomedical, physical and social sciences. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government.
The University of Chicago Urban Network. Sources include links to news items, data sets, journals, researchers, organizations and more.
Planetizen: The Planning and Development Network
Planetizen is a public-interest information exchange provided by Urban Insight for the urban planning, design, and development community.