Guides & Tutorials: Special Topics

Cannabis

Cannabis Guide

Looking for reliable information and research related to marijuana? This guide provides resources on a variety of cannabis/marijuana related topics such as policy, the war on drugs, health and psychology research, and the marijuana industry. 

Image: Brian Shamblen; Cannabis Flower from Flickr Creative Commons 

Copyright

Copyright

This guide is intended to provide explanatory information about copyright, and guidance in determining if the use you would like to make of copyrighted material is allowed by law or can be considered via exemptions in the law.

COVID-19

scientific illustration of coronavirus

COVID-19 

This guide gathers evidence-based resources on COVID-19, the disease caused by the coronavirus.

Culturally Responsive Teaching

Culturally Responsive & Inclusive Curriculum Resources

This guide is meant to help faculty at PSU find information and resources that will help them begin to create courses and curriculum that are more culturally responsive to and inclusive of our students. This guide is a response to the Curriculum Committees' new requirements in regards to culturally responsive courses and programs. 

Discovery of Scholarly Open Access Content

Discovery of Scholarly Open Access Content

Scholarly Open Access Content proliferated in the past two decades of the 21st Century. This guide helps to discover and highlight scholarly open access content that faculty, students, and community members can use and reference.

Elections & Politics

Election & Politics Guide

Elections are the benchmark of the democratic political process. This guide is a good starting place for any research needs on elections in the US and beyond. It includes various web and print resources in presidential, federal, state, local and world elections.

Image: Taft's Summer Schedule. Berryman Political Cartoon Collection, compiled 1896 - 1949. National Archives.

Fake News

Identify & Challenge Disinformation 

This guide explores fake news and provides practical tools for quickly evaluating the credibility of information. Analyzing what we see and hear is vital to a functioning, healthy citizenry.

Image: Little and Big by Matthew G

Homelessness Research

Homelessness Research Guide

This guide provides resources and information regarding both local and national trends, issues, and debates in homelessness research.

It is a collaboration between the PSU Library and the Homelessness Research & Action Collaborative.

Immigration

Immigration Guide

Immigration is a multidisciplinary topic, involving areas as diverse as political science, education, business, and even language and literature. This guide will help you begin your research regarding immigration through the libraries' collections and beyond.

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials in any medium that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others. This guide points to OER portals and search engines for discovering open textbooks, course modules, and media.

Portland & Oregon

Portland & Oregon Guide

This guide will provide you with information and sources to support research on Portland and the state of Oregon.

Image: Portland, Oregon with Mt. Hood (date unknown). OSU Special Collections & Archives

Race, Technology, and Justice Guide

Race, Technology, and Justice Guide

The intersection of Race, Technology, and Social Justice has become an increasingly important and critical area of study and discussion. This guide provides access points to critical literature, policy, and other resources that illuminate these themes. In this guide you will find interdisciplinary voices that all critically engage with the problems we all create and encounter when we assume that technology is neutral.

Students First / Student Success

Students First Library Guide

This guide provides additional information, education research, and context on student success. Included are articles on belonging, mindset, and more. This guide is meant to serve as a starting point and does not encompass the wealth of information available on student success.