Book Publishing: Journals and Trade Magazines
Keeping Up
Publishers Weekly
online coverage from 1997 - present
print backfiles 1888-2008
ShelfAwareness
"Shelf Awareness Pro, which we've been publishing since June 2005, provides booksellers and librarians the information they need to sell and lend books. It appears every business day and is read by people throughout the book industry."
The Bookseller
UK-based book industry magazine.
Publishing Perspectives
"Publishing Perspectives is an online business magazine that covers the trends, people, and companies shaping the global book industry."
Databases
Sometimes the most efficient way to find articles on your topic is to use a database that covers the discipline in which that topic is discussed. Publishing is an interdisciplinary field with scholars writing about it from many perspectives e.g. business and marketing, literary studies, media studies, book arts, library collections. Subject or disciplinary databases take on the job of covering the journal literature in a broad field and providing descriptions of articles that you can then find. Click the Find it @ PSU 
to link from the database to the article via PSU Library's catalog.
- Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)Covers abstracts of journals, books, research reports, and proceedings in the fields of librarianship, classification, cataloging, and information retrieval from the 1960s to the present.
- Business Source Premier
This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information. - MLA International BibliographyIndexes citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books about world literature, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1921 to the present.
- Academic Search PremierCoverage of professional, scholarly and peer reviews articles in a wide array of disciplines. A good basic academic database that helps in interdisciplinary research. A good starting point.
Interlibrary Loan
The PSU Library doesn't hold subscriptions to every scholarly journal, and the PSU Library coupled with the Orbis Cascade Alliance don't hold every book. In cases where you have found something important but you aren't able to get it through our holdings, you can use the Interlibrary Loan service to request it. You can go to the request form and type in the information manually. Also when you link from a database to the PSU Library catalog and we don't have access to the article, you will be offered the option of requesting it.
Scholarly Journals
Available through PSU Library and/or online
PSU Library has subscriptions to the following journals, or they available open access online.
International Journal of Research in Marketing\
Journal of Electronic Publishing
Journal of Scholarly Publishing
from 1997 to six months ago (most recent 6 months of content is embargoed)
from 2003 to present
Mémoires du livre / Studies in Book Culture
Other journals of interest
PSU Library does not subscribe to these journals, but you can browse the table of contents for individual issues or search the contents on the publishers' website. Use the Library's Interlibrary loan service to request desired articles.
If you have an article citation...
Sometimes you will be trying to get a journal article and all you'll have is the citation - no link to it. You can use an article citation to get the full text.
Ex.: Baron, R. M., & Kenny, D. A. (1986). The moderator–mediator variable distinction in social psychological research: Conceptual, strategic, and statistical considerations. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 51(6), 1173-1182
Option 1:
Search the PSU Library using the article title as your search:
Option 2:
Enter the article title in Google Scholar, then click on Find it @ PSU:
Then...
Both methods provide links to the full text article, using the link under online access:
Not available?
Try searching for the journal and then searching or browsing for the article. If the Library does not have access to the volume of the journal needed, submit an article request via Interlibrary Loan.
