Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Odds and Ends to Know About
Books in Print (BIP)
Search for books, video and audio materials in print, forthcoming, and out of print. Includes a directory of publishers.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Funded by donors to the Dean's Fund for Excellence in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science
Call Number: Z1006 .E57 2003 ( Reference Collection - 2nd floor)
Encyclopedias can be fabulous sources for overviews, background and referral to the best sources on a particular topic. The best of them do an excellent job of providing an overall outline of their subject, identifying the broad topics and then breaking down the smaller ones.
Literary Market Place: The Directory of the Book Publishing Industry
Call Number: PN161 .L5 (Reference Collection -- 2nd floor)
Includes sections on publishers; editorial services and agents; associations, events, courses and awards; advertising, marketing and publicity; sales and distribution, book manufacturing in the U.S. and Canada.
Writer's Market 2019
Call Number: PN 161 .W83 2019 (Reference Collection - 2nd floor)
The Multnomah County Library* currently suscribes to the Lynda.com online training platform offering courses in software, technology, creative skills. Here you fill find up to date training materials on programs such as InDesign, protocols such as XML, etc.
*Multnomah, Washington, and Clackamus county library systems offer reciprocal library cards. If you live in any one of those counties, you can get a library card from the other systems and will have access to that library system's resources (in person and online). So if you live in Beaverton and would like to be able to use Lynda.com from Multnomah County Library, go to a branch of the Multnomah County Library and sign up for a library card. You do have to do this in person.
PSU Library Website Tour Video
PSU Book Publishing Final Research Papers