Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Book Review publications
Reviews fiction, nonfiction, childrens, YA and indie books. Some content is available free at the web site: books reviews, best seller lists, author interviews. PcoConnect service connects publisher, agents, film executives with self -published books.
New York Times Book Review
Available from 1997-present through the Library's subscription.
Back issue archive on the New York Times site.
The online Book Review site is searchable for articles and reviews back to the mid 2000s.
Also available via the New York Times Historical Backfile (1851-2013)
Nexus Uni (previous name: Lexis Nexus)
A somewhat sprawling database that includes full text of MANY newspapers. Recommended search strategy: title of book in quotes, author's last name and the keyword review.
WorldCat (WorldCat Discovery interface)
You can sort by useful variables such as most widely held, by date of publication, etc. The "Explore Editions and Formats" section of the record for a title can be helpful in sorting out publication history.
Sources for identifying book reviews
Academic Search Premier
Provides selected full text, scholarly and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. In the Advanced Search screen, you can limit by Document Type "Book Review".
Early American Newspapers I, II, and III
Covers early American newspapers, a major primary source for American history. Provides unprecedented access to the nation's newspapers from 1690 to 1876. Series I covers 1690-1876, while series II and III cover 1821-1876.
New York Times Historical File (1851-2013)
Archives the New York Times from 1851 to 2013 with full page images and articles.
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Literature Resource Center
Provides reference, literary timelines, and articles on authors, journalists, and critics from all literary periods. Covers literary genres such as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Book Review Digest Retrospective, 1908-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
Provides citations and excerpts from book reviews of adult or juvenile fiction and nonfiction.