Technical Communication: Journal and magazine articles

Databases for finding journal articles

In addition to using a search engine such as Google Scholar to identify journal articles, effective researchers also rely on subject-specific databases that focus on particular disciplines. When you use a disciplinary database to identify articles, more of your results are going to be directly relevant to your topic.   

PSU Library subscribes to hundreds of databases. On almost all of the Library's subject guides, there will be a page identifying the databases that are important for that subject. Use these to help you navigate to databases in your field. 

Once you've found articles using the database, click the  find it green icon link to get to the full text of the article.

Selected Databases of Interest

Searching for a Known Article Video: PSU Library Catalog

Technical Communication Journals

Database searching is the most efficient way to find an unknown article on a specific topic. But browsing through disciplinary journals can deepen your knowledge of your field and can allow you to discover topics you didn't know the words for. Some researchers refer to this method as 'searching by hand'. Below is a list of major technical communications journals.

College Communication and Composition
from 1950-present
from 1950 - five years ago

College English
from 1988 to present
from 1939 - four years ago

Enculturation

IEEE Transactions on Professional Communication

Journal of Business & Technical Communication

Journal of Technical Writing and Communication

Programmatic Perspectives

Technical Communication

Technical Communication Quarterly

Written Communication