UNST High School Senior Inquiry: Scholarly Articles
What is a Scholarly Article?
Academic or scholarly journal articles:
- Written by experts in a particular field
- Written for other experts in that field
- Use expert language, or jargon, specific to that field
- Report on the results of research such as a scientific experiment
- Typically longer
- Very narrow and specific focus
- Give little to no background information
When searching for scholarly articles, match your search terms with the language experts use and be specific with your terms.
What is Peer Review?
This 3 minute video from North Carolina State University explains what a scholarly article is and how peer review works.
How to Quickly Scan & Evaluate a Scholarly Article
This 3 minute video from Quinebaug Library explains the framework of a scholarly article so you can quickly scan it and decide if it will support your research.
Find Scholarly Articles
Research Starting Points:
- Academic Search PremierProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges. - Gale Academic OneFileCovers scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences as well as news articles.
Recommended Databases by Subject:
- JSTORContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
- America: History and LifeIncludes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
- ERIC (EBSCO interface)Includes citations and full-text access to education research found in journals, books, and grey literature.
- Web of ScienceMaintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
- ScienceDirectIncludes full text of articles published in Elsevier journals covering agriculture, humanities, genetics, biology, business, accounting, chemistry, engineering, computer sciences, earth and planetary sciences, economics, materials science, medicine, neuroscience, physics, psychology, and other social sciences. Also includes access to selected 2006 imprints of Elsevier ebooks.
- ProjectMuseIndexes citations for books and articles as wells as full text articles and ebooks from scholarly presses.