Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What you can find in library databases
As a PSU student, you have access to many proprietary resources through the Library, including but not limited to:
- Company directory and profiles (including SWOT analysis)
- Analyst/investment reports
- Industry profiles
- Market research reports (e.g., trends, market/brand shares, consumer demographics/lifestyles/behaviors)
- Country data and profiles
- Articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, and newspapers.
Check the Guides & Tutorials section for specific recommendations on the topics mentioned above.
Business Databases at the Multnomah County Library
Multnomah County Library (MCL) provides some excellent databases that are not available at the PSU Library. You (even if you don't live in the county) can get a free MCL card that grants you remote access to their online content (databases, ebooks, audiobooks, etc.). If asked, mention you are a PSU faculty/staff/student (there is an agreement between MCL and PSU that all PSU affiliates can get a card regardless of their home address). You may be asked for a local address (e.g., use department building address if you don't live here) for them to send you a welcome postcard (no personal info except for your name).
With the MCL card, you can access most of their databases remotely (from home or elsewhere). Below is a select list of relevant business databases. For a comprehensive list of available MCL online resources, go to Research Tools and Resources (select Local Business in the Topics box for specifically business resources).
Business Databases at the PSU Library
This is not an exhaustive list. Check the Core Business Resource Quick Reference for best bets.
Business Insights: Global
Provides company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, investment reports, articles, financials, and case studies.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
In-depth reports on US industries.
Investext (via Mergent Online)
Provides reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports cover financials and analysis on companies and select industries.
Provides detailed information on US and international public companies.
Maintains market research reports and consumer demographic/lifestyle profiles covering U.S. and international marketplaces.
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents.
Contains extensive statistics and analyses on countries, industries, companies, and consumers.
Portland Business Journal
Provides access to Portland Business Journal and Book of Lists. Also includes other city business journals.
Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
Provides profiles of U.S. companies, health care providers, nonprofit organizations, and government agencies.
Provides access to U.S. federal and state tax publications, including both primary source materials (e.g., Internal Revenue Code and Federal Tax Cases) and editorial materials. To create a personal account for additional functionalities, check out the database tutorial
Demographics, psychographics, and media usage of U.S. adult consumers. Allows 5 simultaneous users.
Provides statistics from over 18,000 free and proprietary sources on a wide range of topics such as business, media, and demographics.
Wall Street Journal
Offers full text articles in The Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition, 1984-present) and the online edition (2010-present ), excluding stock quotes and classified ads. Updated daily.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
Provides access to datasets in business, economics, finance, and sustainability (such as Compustat North America, CRSP, Dow Jones, Eventus, MSCI, TRACE, and more). Access limited to current PSU students, faculty, and staff. After logging in with PSU ID, user will get a 3-day Access Pass. Log in again to get another one after the previous pass expires. User may also request an account