Accounting & Finance: Company & Industry Info
Company Profiles
Recommended
- Business Insights: Global
This link opens in a new window
Provides company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, investment reports, articles, financials, and case studies. - Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed information on US and international public companies. - Business Source Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information.
Others
- PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
Business and financial information on US-based private companies. Searchable by companies, investors, funding, and M&A deals.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create a personal account using your PDX email - Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides profiles of U.S. companies, health care providers, nonprofit organizations, and government agencies. - Investext (via Mergent Online)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports cover financials and analysis on companies and select industries. - Passport (by Euromonitor)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides profiles on select (mostly large) companies. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics from over 18,000 free and proprietary sources on a wide range of topics such as business, media, and demographics.
Industry Information
- Mintel
- This link opens in a new window
Maintains market research reports and consumer demographic/lifestyle profiles covering U.S. and international marketplaces. - Passport (by Euromonitor)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains extensive statistics and analyses on countries, industries, companies, and consumers. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics from over 18,000 free and proprietary sources on a wide range of topics such as business, media, and demographics. - Business Insights: Global
- This link opens in a new window
Provides company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, investment reports, articles, financials, and case studies. - Business Source Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information. - Investext (via Mergent Online)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports cover financials and analysis on companies and select industries.
Historical Company Information
Most company profiles have a "history" section. You can also check out databases featuring historical annual reports.
- Business Insights: Global
- This link opens in a new window
Enter company name in the search box to retrieve the company profile, then look for Company Chronology and Company Histories in the menu. - Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Enter company name or ticker to retrieve the company profile. History is under the Company Details tab. - Proquest Historical Annual ReportsArchives pdf images U.S. companies annual reports from 1844 to the present.
- Mergent ArchivesAvailable online through the Multnomah County Library. Requires a Multnomah County Library card. More info at https://multcolib.org/get-library-card.. Access to Moody's Corporate, Municipal, and Government Manuals (1918-present).
Companies may have been mentioned in business publications or newspapers:
- Business Periodicals IndexIndex of English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, including the leading business magazines and trade and research journals. 1959+
- The Industrial Arts IndexIndex of English-language technology and engineering publications. 1914-1958
Key Resources for Private Company Research
Company Profiles:
- PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
Business and financial information on US-based private companies. Searchable by companies, investors, funding, and M&A deals.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create a personal account using your PDX email - Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
- This link opens in a new window
For BIG to SMALL private companies. Sales and business expenditures data are estimates.
- Hoover's In-Depth Company ReportsFor BIG private companies. Search by company name. Accessed via Nexis Uni.
- Portland Business Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Portland Business Journal (and other city business journals) and Book of Lists. You must create an individual account to access.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create an account using your PDX email - Investext (via Mergent Online)
- This link opens in a new window
Covers select private firms. Use the Keyword search field (instead of the default Company search field) in the dropdown menu.
Industry Benchmarks:
- RMA Statement Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Provides financial ratio benchmarks data (norms and ratios) and industry default probablity data. This is the online version of the RMA annual statement studies.
Non-PSU Resources:
- Crunchbase (limited free data)Company directory that covers startups and other private companies. Also offers free or discounted access to their full data through their Academic Research Access Program (faculty and graduate students only).
- Mergent IntellectAvailable from the Multnomah County Library with a free library card. Basic information on public and private companies with "as reported" financials (if available).
- OwlerCrowdsourced company data and news alerts.