Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford English Dictionary
Covers the history of the English language. Contains word definitions, pronunciation, history, and language of origin. The OED is a comprehensive record of the English language and generally regarded as its definitive dictionary.
Literary Research Guide: annotated listing of reference sources in English literary studies by
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Provides description and evaluation of important bibliographies, abstracts, surveys of research, indexes, databases, catalogs, general histories and surveys, annals, chronologies, dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks.
Full Text Reference Sources online
Provides access and searching capability to the Critical Insights book series comprised of classic and current literary criticism.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Offers full text articles on critics, and literary theorists as well as critical and theoretical schools and movements.
Literature Online - LION
Includes reference works, biographical sketches, bibliographies, and secondary criticism of British and American literary works. Offers full text of some novels, poems, dramas, and prose.
Oxford Reference Online
Contains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.