Literature in English: Reviews
Presents basic resources for literary research
Sources for identifying book reviews
-
An Index to book reviews in the humanitiesA print index identifying reviews appearing in scholarly humanities journals of books published from 1960-1990.
-
Combined retrospective index to book reviews in humanities journals, 1802-1974A print index providing coverage of reviews published in over 150 humanities journals from 1802 to 1974.
-
New York Times 'Books' sectionThe New York Times free site; includes full text of book reviews going back several years.
-
New York Times This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of the New York Times from 1980 - present. Use the Advanced Search's Document Type limiter 'Reviews'.
-
New York Times Historical File This link opens in a new windowArchives the New York Times from 1851 with full page images and articles.
-
New York Review of BooksFull text of the NYRB from 1963 - present.
-
Book Review IndexPrint index providing citations to book reviews published in popular magazines. Coverage dates 1965-2009.
-
Book Review Digest Retrospective, 1908-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and excerpts from book reviews of adult or juvenile fiction and nonfiction.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowContains full text of selected journals drawn from all disciplines including humanities, social sciences and the sciences. The search engine offers a limiter by document type, 'book review'.
-
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowUsually includes full text (but for some publications citations only0 for articles published in popular magazines. Search Options include Document Type limiter 'Book Review'.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents. Includes book reviews from included publications.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years. In advanced search, limit by item type 'Reviews'.
-
Early American Newspapers I, II, and III This link opens in a new windowCovers early American newspapers, a major primary source for American history. Provides unprecedented access to the nation's newspapers from 1690 to 1876. Series I covers 1690-1876, while series II and III cover 1821-1876.
