Community Health: Reference Works
Bibliographies
- Oxford Bibliographies - Public Health TopicsProvides lists of references on public health topics.
Full-Text Online Reference Databases
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineContains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Portland State University Library Content)Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. This expanded collection of the Oregon Gale Virtual Statewide Reference Library includes Portland State University purchased titles.
Why Reference Works?
Scholarly reference works are useful for the following:
- An overview of a topic
- Topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Finding keywords for searches
- Bibliographies for further research
Reference works are good starting points for research, but are rarely cited in research as secondary sources.
Dictionaries
Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary by Call Number: R121 .M89 2002 -- 2nd floor referenceISBN: 9780323014304Publication Date: 2001-10-09
A Dictionary of Public Health (ebook) by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780195160901Publication Date: 2006-11-23
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
The SAGE Handbook of Healthcare by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781847877000Publication Date: 2008-01-01
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780028666709Publication Date: 2019-09-01
International Encyclopedia of Public Health by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780128037089Publication Date: 2016-10-06
The Oxford Handbook of Public Health Ethics by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780190245191Publication Date: 2019-08-20
