Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What does Evidence-based mean?
The term Evidence-based refers to the use of empirical data and information. Evidence-based practice refers to the use of research findings that are demonstrably effective. Evidence-based publication formats include practice guidelines, meta analyses, systematic reviews, and other kind of publications
There are distinct techniques that will help you find evidence-based scholarship. One way is to search databases that contain only evidence-based information such as guidelines and reviews. Another technique is to conduct searches and then limit to specific publication types that are evidence-based.
Evidence-Based in the News
Campbell Library of Systematic Reviews
Provides access to systematic reviews, usually international in scope, in education, criminal justice, and social welfare.
Annual Reviews Online
Composed of full text, research reviews of current and emerging topics in a variety of disciplines including the biomedical, physical and social sciences.
DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)
Contains abstracts of quality assessed and critically appraised systematic reviews. Focuses primarily on systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health care interventions, and the delivery and organisation of health services.
SUMSearch is used to find original studies, systematic reviews, and practice guidelines in health and medicine. It searches MEDLINE, DARE, and the National Guidelines Clearinghouse simultaneously.
Features metasearches of evidence-based practice (EBP) databases in the health sciences including DARE, and PubMed as well as EBP journals from 1997 to the present.
American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines
Includes the American Psychiatric Association (APA) practice guidelines, which provide evidence-based recommendations for the assessment and treatment of psychiatric disorders.
California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare
Maintains a clearinghouse for evidence-based child welfare programs and practices.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
SAMHSA Evidence-based Practices Resource Center
Maintains a registry of mental health and substance abuse interventions that have been reviewed and rated by independent reviewers.
Bibliography of Data-Related Literature
Maintains publications and citations based on the Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) data and archives.
Community Health Advisor
Site funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation that provides information on the benefits of evidence-based policies and programs.