Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Cite a Map
How to Cite maps
Ohio Wesleyan University's guide to citing maps in various formats.
Books of interest
How Maps Work by
Call Number: GA105.3 .M32 1995
Publication Date: 1995-06-09
Maps : finding our place in the world by
Call Number: GA108 .M34 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-15
A history of the world in twelve maps by
Call Number: GA201 .B748 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Maps and Politics by
Call Number: GA108.7 .B58 1997
Publication Date: 1998-02-11
From Sea Charts to Satellite Images by
Call Number: E179 .F84 1990
Publication Date: 1990-06-22
Historical Atlas of the United States by
Call Number: G1201.S1 H4 2007
Publication Date: 2006-10-17
Gazetteers / Geographic Names
Geographic Names and Information System (GNIS)
Contains information about almost 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United States. The Federally recognized name of each feature described in the data base is identified, and references are made to a feature's location by State, county, and geographic coordinates. The GNIS is our Nation's official repository of domestic geographic names information.
GEOnet Names Server
Provides access to the National Imagery and Mapping Agency's database of foreign geographic feature names.
An extensive list of gazetteers available on the Web.
Find More Online!
National Geographic MapMaker Interactive
We've redesigned this tool to support interactive mapping on tablets. And new features have been added to help you view and customize maps. Explore and discover information about countries and territories around the world. Customize the fill and border colors to make this map layer your own.
Old Maps Online
Search for digitized antiquarian maps using a map interface. Defaults to the location of your IP address similar to current smartphone mapping apps. Contains map links from major repositories such as David Rumsey Collections and more.
Antiquarian Maps, Yale University
Scanned images of maps dating back to the 16th century.
Antiquarian Maps, Reed College Library
Searchable database of antiquarian maps.
David Rumsey Antiquarian Map Collection
The historical map collection has over 28,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
Digital Map Collection (U. of California/ Berkeley)
Access to California digital maps as well as non-California digital maps. Includes digital topographic maps, including international locations.
CUGIR Geospatial Information Repository, Cornell
Scanned and interactive maps of New York from Cornell's collection.
Maps Stats from Census Bureau
This site provides acess to U.S. Census data in cartographic form. Maps are based on the TIGER file maps.
Sentinel-1 Relative Land Motion Map of the UK 2015-2017
This relative land motion map was generated by Geomatic Ventures Limited (GVL) using its in-house advanced interferometric SAR (InSAR) analysis of over 2000 Sentinel-1 satellite images acquired from 2015-2017. More detailed information may be found in the FAQ. The resulting data is copyright Geomatic Ventures Limited 2018.
Federal, State and Local Portals
Geodata.gov is a web-based portal for one-stop access to maps, data and other geospatial services." Over 15 data categories, including geology, human health, elevation, agriculture, biology, culture, and transportation. Covers federal, state and local levels.
Detailed information on communications, economic conditions, geography, government, people, military, transportation, & transnational issues for nearly all nations. Maps provided for all nations.
National Parks Maps
Find a National Park by state and obtain more detailed maps and park information.
Includes USGS library, maps, products and publications. As an unbiased, multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water, USGS is dedicated to the timely, relevant, and impartial study of the landscape, our natural resources, and natural hazards.
Earth Explorer is an interactive mapping service for creating data sets from USGS.
National Ocean Service MapFinder
This interface allows users to locate a local or regional area of interest; find out what information and product offerings are available for that location; and immediately download specific products.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Source of maps distributed to Federal Depository Libraries. In many cases, the only index to U.S. Government maps.
Library of Congress Maps Collection
This site has historical, military, geographic, and transportation maps plus many other kinds of maps.
Oregon Department of Forestry Maps and Data
Various datasets on Oregon's forests available for downloading.
Created by the City of Portland to provide a new way of accessing public data, including Census data, building permits, crime data, and more.
Travel Maps / Guides
Interactive maps for addresses and areas in the United States. Includes directions for drivers. International locations are also available.