Maps & Other Cartographic Information: Find Digital Maps/Electronic Resources

Use this search to look for historical maps. You can also use the Map Locator in the USGS online Store to locate full time series by place, address, or map extent.

This site offers digital vector representations of the features typically found on a 1:24,000 quadrangle map. Vector data includes features such as transportation, hydrography, hypsography, boundaries, public land survey, basic land ownership (within the National Forest Boundary), man-made features, and text labels. topographic maps for the national forests within the United States.

Users Guide

Historic United States Topographic Maps. University of Texas Libraries

This easy to use interface from National Geographic allows anyone to quickly find a 7.5 minute topo in the continental U.S.A. for downloading and printing onto standard letter size paper..

Developed by the member agencies of the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC), the Geospatial Platform provides geospatial data, services, and applications for use by the public and by government agencies and partners to meet their mission needs.

The Digital Coast website provides not only essential data sets, but also the tools and training coastal communities need to turn these data into useful information. This centralized, user-friendly, and cost-effective information repository was developed by the NOAA Coastal Services Center for the coastal managers, planners, decision-makers, and technical users who are charged to manage the nation’s coastal and ocean resources to sustain vibrant coastal communities and economies.

Part of Oregon Explorer, the Oregon Spatial Data Library provides easy and convenient ways to find, access and share geospatial data.

What is OnTheMap?

OnTheMap Version 6 is the sixth generation of OnTheMap, a web-based mapping and reporting application that shows where workers are employed and where they live. It also provides companion reports on age, earnings, industry distributions, race, ethnicity, educational attainment, and sex. Race, Ethnicity, Educational Attainment, Sex, Firm Age, and Firm Size variables are made available in OnTheMap through a beta release of data.
OnTheMap provides an easy-to-use interface for creating, viewing, printing and downloading workforce related maps, profiles, and underlying data. Based on 2002-2014 LEHD Origin Destination Employment Statistics (LODES), OnTheMap is a unique resource for mapping the travel patterns of workers and identifying small-area workforce characteristics.

Detailed information on communications, economic conditions, geography, government, people, military, transportation, & transnational issues for nearly all nations. Maps provided for all nations.

Access to California digital maps as well as non-California digital maps. Includes digital topographic maps, including international locations.

Access to public flood maps, flood insurance rate maps, & other digital flood data. Possible to access maps/data for street addresses.

Digitized historic maps at the Library of Congress. Includes cities & towns, conservation & environment, discovery & exploration, communication & transportation, military battles, and cultural landscapes.

Digital maps of all national parks in the United States.

Digitized maps of New York City, New York and New Jersey, dating from 1660 to 1922, which detail transportation, vice, real estate development, urban renewal, industrial development and pollution, political geography among many, many other things.

Extensive collection of digitized maps. International in scope. Includes maps of cities, states, regions, nations, and of the world. Political and historical maps are included.

The U.S.G.S. guide to the maps and other cartographic materials available from the United States Geological Survey. The U.S.G.S. "Store" for purchasing these materials.

Access to detailed maps of communities in the United States. Excellent options for placename searches.

Geodata.gov is a web-based portal for one-stop access to maps, data and other geospatial services." Over 15 data categories, including geology, human health, elevation, agriculture, biology, culture, and transportation. Covers federal, state and local levels.

Access to maps as well as hybrid and satellite images. International coverage.

Access to road or street maps as well as satellite & physical images of communities. Theme maps of communities are also provided (agriculture, climate, population density, & others).

Interactive maps for addresses and areas in the United States. Includes directions for drivers. International locations are also available.

Zoom into specific addresses or locations via Google Earth. International coverage. Possible to create geographic datasets. Order satellite images, aerial photographs, and other cartographic materials from the U.S.G.S. (U.S. Geological Survey).

Dictionary of terminology

Established in 1888, The Geological Society of America® provides access to elements that are essential to the professional growth of earth scientists at all levels of expertise and from all sectors: academic, government, business, and industry.

Access to the UCSB Library's digital Aerial Photography Collections is free and open to the public.

While PSU Library does not support ArcGIS, all active PSU students, staff, and faculty have limited access to ArcGIS Online through the university's GIS Software Resources collection. For access instructions, consult this link.

"An important scholarly enterprise, the History of Cartography … is the most ambitious overview of map making ever undertaken …" From the University of Wisconsin, Madison

Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map & Chart Collection covers the land and waters of the United States of America, including territories and possessions (past and present). The collection also covers many areas that most people may not realize were once a part of early Coast Survey history. As the first federal scientific agency, the U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey produced land sketches, Civil War battle maps, and aeronautical charting from the 1930 through the 1970s.

The online atlas highlights lake and reservoir water data stored within the Pacific Northwest Water Quality Data Exchange (PNWWQX). The PNWWQX collaborates between a variety of information management projects to facilitate the aggregation of and access to a comprehensive source of data related to water quality in the Pacific Northwest.

University of Oregon's MAP Library holds the largest collection of maps and aerial photography in the state. Comprehensive collections; many materials accessible via Summit.

What does Next Portland cover?

Next Portland writes about multi-family residential, retail, cultural buildings, educational buildings, hotels and other large projects happening in the City of Portland. We cover both new buildings and major alterations or additions to old buildings. Our blog posts are exclusively written about projects that are either still in the design phase, or are under construction.

Detailed maps for cities and counties in Oregon. Statewide maps are also available.

Oregon Explorer provides a web-based natural resources digital library by integrating data from state and federal agencies, local governments, university scientists, and citizens. A collaboration between Oregon State University Libraries and the Institute for Natural Resources.

Access to the digital tax assessment maps for all counties in Oregon.

Provided by the Portland Bureau of Sustainability, a collection of digitized historical views of Portland and its environs. Some items held in tangible form at the City Archives.

City of Portland site for metropolitan area geographic data. Search by street address or geography for many types of data including assessed and market values, as well as elevation, crime data, and school district information.

Metro's Data Resource Center collaborates with local partners to develop and deliver the Regional Land Information System – more than 100 layers of spatial data that supports strategic decision-making for governments, businesses and organizations across the region.

Download PDF available

Geologic Map of the Portland Quadrangle