UNST Immigration, Migration, and Belonging - Cultural Leader Gallery Walk Assignment: Recommended Databases
Database Searching
Library Databases offer a more focused search that the catalog search. A library database is a collection of resources that can be organized by topic or resource type. Many of these databases offer access to content that would otherwise be behind a paywall on the open web. The database links on this page are just a selection of what the library offers. Read the descriptions below each link to decide which ones to explore.
Go to the link below to see a full list of the library's databases listed alphabetically:
Reference Sources
Reference sources are a great place to start to get biographical information about your cultural leader. Listed below are a few collections that may have information on your cultural leader:
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
Primary Source/ Newspaper Databases
- U.S. Major DailiesProvides full text access to: The Chicago Tribune (1985-present), The Los Angeles Times (1985-present), The New York Times (1980-present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and The Washington Post (1987-present). Closed captions are available. Interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.
- Oregonian
Access to the Oregonian from 1987 to present. Additionally, 2017 to present is available in image format (digital reproduction of the print).
- Oregonian -- Historical Backfile 1861-2018
Contains archival, full text articles of the Oregonian from 1861 to 2018, presented in image format (digital reproduction of the print).
- Historic Oregon NewspapersIncludes digitized historic Oregon newspapers published between 1860 and 1922.
- Nexis UniIncludes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents.
- Civil Rights in America: From Reconstruction to the Great SocietyProvides an archive of official publications and primary source material related to civil rights in the United States.
- Historic Black Newspapers of PortlandNewspapers published by Black-owned presses in Portland and the Pacific Northwest from the 1910s to the 1980s
- Black Thought and CultureIncludes nonfiction works by major American black leaders and writers as well as the Black Panther newspaper.
- Black Life in AmericaProvides historical newspaper and other primary source coverage of Black Life in America as recorded by the news media.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North AmericaPresents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016 This resource has been developed with, and has only been made possible by, the permission and contribution of the newspaper publishers and Tribal Councils concerned.
- Independent VoicesThis is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals.
For a more comprehensive list of Newspaper and News Magazine databases, see the library's newspaper research guide:
Multidisciplinary Databases - Wider Search
- Academic Search PremierProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- JSTORContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Subject Specific Databases - More Specific Search
- Black Studies CenterProvides access to scholarly articles, essays, historic newspapers, and reference works including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
- Ethnic NewswatchIncludes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
- Arte Publico Hispanic Historical CollectionsContains a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture from colonial times through the 20th century. Content is in both Spanish and English.
- America: History and LifeIncludes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionContains citations and full text scholarly articles related to philosophy and religion.
- Gender Studies DatabaseCombines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. Provides citations to journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, government reports, and working papers as well as theses and dissertations.
- LGBT Life with Full TextIndexes and contains full text of international literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transexual, and transgender issues.
- LGBT Thought and CultureProvides documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day.
- Independent VoicesThis is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals.
Library Research Subject Guides
Want to see more database and search recommendations? Here are a few other subject research guides that may be related to your topic or cultural leader: