Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Services for Winter Term 2021
Researching Latin American Studies
Latin Studies is an interdisciplinary field, and, depending on your research topic, it can be difficult to know where to start. This research guide offers an overview of key resources for Latin Studies. If you have questions, please stop by the Reference Desk on the second floor of the Library.
The following library databases are good starting points to find books and articles on a range of topics in Latin American Studies. Try combining two different keywords in a search, as in these examples:
- Brazil and immigration
- Mexico City and art
- Guatemala and language
HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) Online
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook.
LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
Maintained by the Latin American Network Information Center at the University of Texas-Austin. Includes the web sites of governmental institutions, statistical data, bibliographies and informative articles. Can be searched by country or by subject.
The BiblioNoticias Series
A series of bibliographies related to Latin American studies compiled by the staff of the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.
PSU WorldCat Local
Find books and some articles in PSU WorldCat.
Academic Search Premier
Provides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Covers Spanish language scholarly, academic journals. Offers full text, multidisciplinary content. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Encyclopedias are a great place to start your research. They'll give you important background information and refer you to essential resources for more information.
Oxford Reference Online
Contains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
This guide was created with the considerable help of Allen Hauser.