Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
State Politics & Policy Quarterly
"The official publication of the State Politics and Policy Section of the American Political Science Association, SPPQ publishes high quality academic studies that develop and test general hypotheses of political behavior and policymaking, exploiting the unique advantages of the states."
State & Local Government Review
A "journal of scholarship, practical engagement, and discourse on state and local governance. The journal explores subnational governance and administration in federal and multilevel systems around the globe."
Our Campaigns is a comprehensive political data resource whose mission is to collect and make available information about all official elections, historical, current and ongoing. Our primary focus is on the United States, but we also intend to collect all international election data as well. This data includes not only the election results themselves, but also information and photos on the candidates, polls, advertisements, endorsements, finance reports, predictions, the most important news items, district maps and data and mapping of what detailed data is available. OurCampaigns has been a work in progress since 2002.
U.S. Vote Foundation
View elections dates and deadlines for all U.S. States.
Propositions & Ballot Measures
Ballot Measures Database
From the National Conference of State Legislatures. Each entry contains the ballot number, title, type (legislative referendum, initiative, popular referendum, other), status, and summary. Covers all states and goes back as far as 1902.
State Elections across the United States
Current Secretaries of State/Lt. Governors
List of individual Secretaries of States' web sites from the National Association of Secretaries of State.
National Conference of State Legislatures
This resource contains information on state election laws, redistricting, term limits, historic information, and more.
Project Vote Smart
Project Vote Smart provides individual Congressmen and Senators' voting records, information about presidential candidates, directories of state legislator, campaign finance information, and reference documents such as the Constitution, the U.S. Government Manual, and How Our Laws are Made.
Tracks, aggregates, and analyzes polling data from major political polls. Coverage includes gubernatorial elections.
Record of American Democracy (ROAD), 1984-1990
This resource provides precinct-level election data for all federal and state races at and above State House for 1984-1990.
Historical State Election Data
State Legislative Election Returns, 1967-2016
Restructures the State Legislative Election Returns (1967-2016) dataset so that the contest is the unit of analysis. Created by Carl Klarner
Electoral Returns for Statewide Offices in the United States, 1874-1952
Created by Paul Kleppner. This data collection incorporates county-level election returns from 15 states for various statewide offices in the period 1874-1952, including Oregon.
State Legislative Historical Elections
Created by Stephen Ansolabehere, Pamela Ban, James M. Snyder Jr. (2017). Provides data on State legislative general elections prior to 1970.
ICPSR, Referenda and Primary Election Materials
This data collection contains election returns at the county and state levels from the mid-nineteenth century to the late twentieth century for primary and general elections on statewide referenda, constitutional amendments, state House/Senate joint resolutions, and initiated measures. The ballot language of each measure is also included. County-level returns for most gubernatorial, senatorial, and congressional primary elections from 1910 to the present are documented as well.