Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The American Presidency
Created by the National Museum of American History, The American Presidency provides links to websites about the US presidency and presidents, bibliographies, an interactive timeline, hands-on activities, reference resources, and more.
The American Presidency Project
One of the most comprehensive collection of web resources on the American presidency, including documents, public papers, executive orders, addresses, press conferences, debates, election data, approval ratings, and much more
Commission on Presidential Debates (CPD)
CPD provides transcripts, images, and video (real or enactments) of presidential election debates starting with 1858.
The Living Room Candidate
Created by the America Museum of the Moving Images in cooperation with the Political Communication Center, University of Oklahoma, The Living Room Candidate provides a history of presidential campaign commercials starting with 1952.
POTUS from 1789 - Current
POTUS, a project of the Internet Public Library, includes biographies and portraits of the president, the first lady, and the vice-president, highlights of the presidency, election results, list of cabinet officers, and sometimes biographical information about cabinet officers, historical documents, and more.
Presidential Elections 1860-1912
This resource contains cartoons from Harper's Weekly and other leading journals, Library Congress Collection of American Political Prints; 1860 - 1912.
Presidential Elections and the Electoral College (The Proceedings of the Electoral Commission of 1877)
This Library of Congress project presents the pages from records of Congressional debates on presidential elections, contested presidential elections, electoral colleges from 1789 to 1877.
The Times Looks Back
Presidential Elections 1896-1996: provides historic articles, editorials, trivia quizzes, facts about the U.S. presidents, and more from the New York Times.
News & Analysis
Evaluates the accuracy of campaign claims. Includes RSS feeds and email updates. From the University of Pennsylvania's Annenberg Public Policy Center.
Five Thirty Eight
Offering statistics on politics (and sports), Five Thirty Eight provides news articles and knowledge at a glance.
Political Wire offers the latest presidential election news as well as links to other political web resources.
Features a scorecard checking the truth in the attacks of the candidates. From the St. Petersburg Times and CQ.
Project Vote Smart
Project Vote Smart provides individual Congressmen and Senators' voting records, information about presidential candidates, directories of state legislator, campaign finance information, and reference documents such as the Constitution, the U.S. Government Manual, and How Our Laws are Made.
Blog from the Government Accountability Office.
Atlas of the U.S. Presidential Elections
This resource offers the detailed national results for major and minor candidate for U.S. presidential election from 1789 to present. It contains information on candidates, parties, electoral vote total, maps, charts, and more.
Presidential Elections 1789-2012
The National Atlas of the United States of America features printable maps for presidential elections from 1789-2000