Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In This Guide....
Locating books, articles or any online materials in Japanese requires a little extra effort. Please review the find article section of the Research Guide for Vernacular or Non-English Resources for more background and tips on locating Japanese materials.
For more Japan and Japanese-related guides, please visit the North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources' Subject Guide Portal.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the following pages of the guide:
- Find Articles - search for articles online and in print. Recommends the best resources for finding articles.
- Reference Works & Online Resources - Get background information on your topic, identify key authors and works, and more by using bibliographies, subject encyclopedias and biographical sources recommended on this page.
- Japan: Culture and History - data and primary sources related to archaeology that you can mine for your research, videos, professional organizations, scholarly societies and other quality web resources.
Core Online Resources
Looking for items or resources concerning Japan? Try adding the keywords "Japan" or "Japanese" to your search:
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books about world literature, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1921 to the present. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Literature Resource Center
Provides reference, literary timelines, and articles on authors, journalists, and critics from all literary periods. Covers literary genres such as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Find citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Contains citations and full text scholarly articles related to philosophy and religion. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Offers full text articles on critics, and literary theorists as well as critical and theoretical schools and movements.
Grangers World of Poetry
Comprised of full text poetry, poetry citations, commentaries, biographies, and bibliographies.