Applied Linguistics: Home
A research guide for Applied Linguistics
Welcome!
Applied Linguistics is an interdisciplinary field that examines questions about language systems and their relationship to practical, real-world problems such as language teaching and learning, language assessment, language program evaluation, language planning and policy, and literacy.
The Cambridge Introduction to Applied Linguistics (ebook) by ISBN: 9781108470322Publication Date: 2021
Core Online Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your research in applied linguistics.
- Education SourceIncludes citations and full text articles from education research journals, books, and conference papers.
- ERIC (EBSCO interface)Includes citations and full-text access to education research found in journals, books, and grey literature.
- Films On DemandMaintains a collection of streaming videos, educational films, and video segments in the humanities & social sciences, business & economics, science & mathematics, health & medicine, technical education, family & consumer sciences, careers & job searching, and guidance & counseling. Closed captions and/or interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.
- Gale Educator's Reference CompleteCovers education journals from preschool to college as well as educational technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)Indexes journal citations and other publications covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
- MLA International BibliographyIndexes citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books about world literature, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1921 to the present.
- Professional Development CollectionIncludes full text of educator magazines and journals from the mid 1990s to the present.
Applied Linguistics Librarian
Related Guides
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
- Contact a librarian 24/7 using our chat services.
- Email questions will receive a response in one business day.
- You can get help in person at the research help desk, 1st floor of the Library these days and times.