Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly, Professional, Popular?
The first thing you should do when you have a research assignment is figure out what types of article sources are required or allowed. Some professors require you to use only scholarly peer-reviewed journals while others might let you use professional journals (also known as trade journals.
Scholarly article - written by an expert in the field and reviewed by peers who are experts in the same area. In many databases, you can limit your search to scholarly, peer-reviewed or refereed journals to weed out any non-scholarly content.
Professional/trade article - Trade or professional journals can have articles written by experts in the field or by staff writers. The articles are only reviewed by editors for style, so they go through a less rigorous review process. The articles often do not contain reference lists.
Popular journals - Written for a general audience rather than for professionals or scholars. Examples include The New Yorker, People, and Rolling Stone.
If you have an article citation...
You can use an article citation to get the full text.
Ex.: Baron, R. M., & Kenny, D. A. (1986). The moderator–mediator variable distinction in social psychological research: Conceptual, strategic, and statistical considerations. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 51(6), 1173-1182
Search the PSU Library using the article title as your search:
Enter the article title in Google Scholar, then click on Find it @ PSU:
Both methods provide links to the full text article, using the link under online access:
Try searching for the journal and then searching or browsing for the article. If the Library does not have access to the volume of the journal needed, submit an article request via Interlibrary Loan.
Core Online Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your research in applied linguistics.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Click on "Linguistics" in the "Browse by Subject" section for access.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Indexes journal citations and other publications covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Education Research Complete
Includes citations and full text articles from education research journals, books, and conference papers. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
ERIC (EBSCO interface)
Indexes education documents (ED), and education journal articles (EJ), from 1966 to the present. Covers all educational levels and aspects of education. Full text journal articles (EJ), and education documents on microfiche (ED 1966-2003), are still available. Click on the information icon regarding the status of full text ERIC documents(ED). Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Research Starters - Education
Provides education topics that include overviews and summaries of issues and subjects addressed in teacher education and school administration. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Professional Development Collection
Includes full text of educator magazines and journals from the mid 1990s to the present. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Gale Educator's Reference Complete
Covers education journals from preschool to college as well as educational technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books about world literature, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1921 to the present. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Films On Demand
Maintains a collection of streaming videos, educational films, and video segments in the humanities & social sciences, business & economics, science & mathematics, health & medicine, technical education, family & consumer sciences, careers & job searching, and guidance & counseling. Closed captions and/or interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.
Related & Multidisciplinary Resources
Academic Search Premier
Provides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Annual Reviews Online
Composed of full text, research reviews of current and emerging topics in a variety of disciplines including the biomedical, physical and social sciences. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes citations to articles from scholarly social science and humanities journals from 1907 to 1984. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
The online database of the bibliography published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, L'Annee Philologique indexes scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Limited to two simultaneous users.
Indexes citations for books and articles as wells as full text articles and ebooks from scholarly presses. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Web of Science
Maintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
Print Journal Titles
Education Index, 1929-2003
Z5813 .E23 | Reference and Fifth Floor
Linguistics Abstracts, 1985-2003
P1 .A1 L5123 | Fourth Floor
Emphasis on theory and practice of general linguistics.
Linguistic Bibliography for the Year ...and Supplement for Previous Years, 1939-1995
Z7001 .P4 | Fifth Floor
Valuable for its worldwide coverage of the field of linguistics.
Language Teaching, 1982-2003
P51 .L33 | Fourth Floor