EC 202 Principles of Macroeconomics: Current Events
Why Use the Library?
For the Current Events assignment, while you can find the articles directly on the publisher's website (e.g., wsj.com), sometimes you may not be able to read the full article due to the so-called "Pay Wall". As a PSU student, you can read full text articles in many major publications through the Library website at no additional cost.
Key Publications
- Wall Street JournalOffers full text articles in The Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition, 1984-present) and the online edition (2010-present ), excluding stock quotes and classified ads. Updated daily.
- Portland Business Journal
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Portland Business Journal (and other city business journals) and Book of Lists. You must create an individual account to access.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create an account using your PDX email
- The EconomistProvides "insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology"
- Financial TimesFull text from 1999 - 30 days ago (30-day embargo by publisher). Library also maintains last six months in print and older copies on microfilm. See print version.
** The Oregonian: oregonlive.com provides free access to articles published within the last six months.
Article Databases
In addition to looking up articles in individual publications, you can also search across multiple publications in an article database (a publication may or may not be in a given database).
- Business Source Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents. - Regional Business NewsComprised of full text articles from local business publications, newspapers, and newswires in the U.S.
- Gale Onefile News (InfoTrac Newsstand)Provides access to leading international newspapers, major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as selected transcripts from popular television and radio news programs in the U.S.
How to Find Specific Articles Guide
If you have an article citation or the title of an article, check the library guide, Find Specific Articles in Full Text.