Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Good Places to Start
Just beginning your research? Here's a few databases that are excellent starting points:
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes articles related to political institutions, international law and politics, public policy, public administration, political theory, and political economics. Indexes sources from 1975 to the present.
Includes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents.
Provides selected full text of regional and national newspapers in the U.S., as well as international newspapers. Also contains television and radio news transcripts.
Spanish language interface.
Click on the word "Español" to change language. To search for subject guides, click on the subject guide search button, then enter your search word(s) on the next screen.
Searchable in Spanish or English.
Academic Search Premier
Provides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Social Sciences Articles
America: History and Life
Includes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Find citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)
Covers public affairs, public and social policy, and international relations. Includes national and international journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, and pertinent web sites.
Indexes citations to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to access current and historical U.S. Census data and demographic information. It contains maps, profile reports, data elements, and variables.
Find it @ PSU
If the article you have found in a database doesn't have the full-text right there, click on the button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database. If we do have it, it will take you to a page that shows you where it's available (if you see a Download Article link, you can click to access the electronic copy).
Scholarly, Professional, Popular?
The first thing you should do when you have a research assignment is figure out what types of article sources are required or allowed. Some professors require you to use only scholarly peer-reviewed journals while others might let you use professional journals (also known as trade journals.
Scholarly article - written by an expert in the field and reviewed by peers who are experts in the same area. In many databases, you can limit your search to scholarly, peer-reviewed or refereed journals to weed out any non-scholarly content.
Professional/trade article - Trade or professional journals can have articles written by experts in the field or by staff writers. The articles are only reviewed by editors for style, so they go through a less rigorous review process. The articles often do not contain reference lists.
Popular journals - Written for a general audience rather than for professionals or scholars. Examples include The New Yorker, People, and Rolling Stone.
Interlibrary Loan When We Don't Have It
If we don't have a journal article you need for your research in our collection, we can get it for you! Just request it through Interlibrary Loan. Please note: it can take up to a week or more to secure an article from another library.