Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find it @ PSU
If the article you have found in a database doesn't have the full-text right there, click on the button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database. If we do have it, it will take you to a page that shows you where it's available (if you see a Download Article link, you can click to access the electronic copy).
Interlibrary Loan When We Don't Have It
If we don't have a journal article you need for your research in our collection, we can get it for you! Just request it through Interlibrary Loan. Please note: it can take up to a week or more to secure an article from another library.
Find Newspaper Articles
Includes a large number of international newspapers.
World News Connection
An archive of international news translated into English. It includes foreign newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines from 130 countries.
Indexes article citations, full text articles, and images from popular Hispanic magazines. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Provides selected full text of regional and national newspapers in the U.S., as well as international newspapers. Also contains television and radio news transcripts.
Includes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
Scholarly, Professional, Popular?
The first thing you should do when you have a research assignment is figure out what types of article sources are required or allowed. Some professors require you to use only scholarly peer-reviewed journals while others might let you use professional journals (also known as trade journals.
Scholarly article - written by an expert in the field and reviewed by peers who are experts in the same area. In many databases, you can limit your search to scholarly, peer-reviewed or refereed journals to weed out any non-scholarly content.
Professional/trade article - Trade or professional journals can have articles written by experts in the field or by staff writers. The articles are only reviewed by editors for style, so they go through a less rigorous review process. The articles often do not contain reference lists.
Popular journals - Written for a general audience rather than for professionals or scholars. Examples include The New Yorker, People, and Rolling Stone.
Best Places to Search
These databases are the best places to search for articles in areas related to international studies. They are multidisciplinary and thus are useful for finding articles on many different types of topics.
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)
Covers public affairs, public and social policy, and international relations. Includes national and international journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, and pertinent web sites.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes articles related to political institutions, international law and politics, public policy, public administration, political theory, and political economics. Indexes sources from 1975 to the present.
Europa World and/or the Regional Surveys of the World
Covers political and economic information about countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Academic Search Premier
Provides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Find Articles about Specific Regions
African Studies Abstracts Online
Publishes quarterly bibliography listing edited works and articles from African studies journals and journals from Africa.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Provides access to Asian-related humanities and social science research. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
Presents periodicals, diaries, photographs, and other materials relating to British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people, and tourists in China.
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies
Indexes scholarly literature on the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa. Contains records and covers from 1900 and earlier to the present. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Quarterly index of African periodical literature
Indexes journal articles, popular magazines, and unique small press publications from African countries.
Find Articles about History
Find citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
America: History and Life
Includes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Find Articles about Culture
Indexes articles and essays on anthropology, archaeology, and related fields. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Indexes citations to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Find Articles about Art and Literature
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books about world literature, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1921 to the present. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.