Library DIY Content: specific item search
Finding maps
The Map Collection at the PSU Library
The PSU Library's map collection is located on the 4th floor and there are free map resources available on the Internet. Use the Maps and Other Cartographic Information subject guide to find US or international maps, soil surveys, and atlases.
This photo of the world map is from the United States Geological Survey.
Finding company or industry information
Company, Industry, and Consumer Market Research
Business Subject Guides
These subject guides listed under Business, Company Research and Industry & Market Research, support your research.
- Company Research GuideIn this guide you will find recommended resources for company research. Use the tabs to navigate through sections of the guide, including company profiles, annual reports, and SWOT analysis.
- Industry & Market Research GuideIn this guide you will find recommended sources for industry and market research, specifically the US market, although many of the sources also cover international markets. Use the tabs to navigate through sections of the guide, including industry profiles, ratios, and market shares.
Business Databases
These databases provide detailed information about international companies, business, the military, and governments.
- Business Insights: Global
This link opens in a new window
Provides company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, investment reports, articles, financials, and case studies. - Military & Government CollectionComprised of full text magazine and newspaper articles on national/international policy and politics, public administration, political science, international relationships, national and global security, law enforcement, and the military branches.
Finding detailed help by subject
Subject Guides
There are Subject Guides for each field or discipline. Go to the PSU Library home page and select Subject Guides, then look for your subject in the alphabetical list.
This image shows where to access the Subject Guides from the main PSU Library home page.
You can also use the top menu of the PSU Library webpage to access the Subject Guides. Move the mouse over Research Tools & Collections, and then select Subject Guides under Research Help, as shown.
Finding newspaper articles
Search for Newspaper Articles
Newspapers cover current events and contain both descriptive news stories and editorials on current events. Newspaper articles are reported by professional journalists who do considerable research and interview the people involved for each story. News reports are fact-checked for accuracy by editorial staff.
Newspapers provide:
- Coverage of current events
- Eyewitness accounts of an event
- In-depth coverage of local issues
- The public's reaction to a specific event or issue
Search Newspapers at the PSU Library
You have access to many newspapers online through the PSU Library catalog. Search for your topic and then select Newspaper Articles under Resource Type, then apply the filter. This image shows a search for the 2017 total solar eclipse.
The PSU Library has databases that contain both current and historical newspapers. These resources are listed under By Type as News on the Databases & Articles webpage.
Finding videos
Search for Videos
Search the Library Catalog for Videos
Search for DVDs or streaming videos using the PSU Library catalog. Enter the keywords, topic, or title of the video and search. Narrow your search by navigating to the Resource Type and select Streaming Audio & Video or DVD Videos. If you do not see these listed under Resource Type, select more options to expand the list, as shown in this image.
This image shows a search filtered by Streaming Audio & Video and DVD Video.
If a film is available as streaming video online, the link under the search result says Online Access. Click this link to stream the video.
If the film is not available online but is available as a DVD, this text changes to Find & Request. This image shows a search for a DVD of the film Cats by Andrew Lloyd Webber. Request a DVD by clicking on Find & Request to find more details about checking it out.
Finding Print or Non-Internet Sources
Search for Print or Physical Resources
You may have an assignment where the professor asks you not to use "online" or "Internet" sources. There are several strategies to find print resources.
Search the PSU Library
You can use the catalog to search for items physically on the shelf at PSU. First, search for your topic. Then, go to Refine My Results on the left-hand side and select On Library Shelves and click Apply Filter(s).
You can order a PSU Library print book delivered to your home by using the Home Delivery Request Form with your Odin log in.
Interlibrary Loan for Book Chapters
Some books will show up in the catalog that are not available at the PSU Library, but they are available at Summit Libraries, a partnership of academic libraries in Oregon, Washington, and Idaho. Currently, Summit services are unavailable. You can request a book chapter through Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery. Identify a book chapter by analyzing the Table of Contents of a book.
Allow up to 12 business days for book chapters requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Finding items in a language other than English
Find Items in a Language other than English
Search the Library databases and catalog for books and articles in other languages. Here are some useful tips:
- Type your search in English, then limit your results to a particular language in the facets on the left-hand side
- Type your search in a language other than English, but type the search word without the diacritics. Example: Type El Nino instead of El Niño