UNST Portland - Batchelder: Government & News
Useful Government Websites
Counties:
Multnomah | Washington | Clackamas
City:
Portland | Metro Regional Government
For more regional information see:
Pacific Northwest State and Local Resources
Other Useful Websites
- Oregon Blue BookThe official state directory and fact book about all levels of government in Oregon. Published since 1911, it is produced and updated by the Oregon State Archives.
- Oregon Explorer: Natural Resources Digital LibraryOregon Explorer provides a web-based natural resources digital library by integrating data from state and federal agencies, local governments, university scientists, and citizens. A collaboration between Oregon State University Libraries and the Institute for Natural Resources.
- Oregon Sustainable Community Digital LibraryArchives a central online repository of key urban planning documents on the Portland Metropolitan area. Includes planning reports, digital images, and other grey literature.
Google Site Searching Video
Additional Oregon Papers
- Historic Oregon NewspapersIncludes digitized Oregon newspapers from many smaller towns throughout the state. Dates of coverage vary per paper .
- Oregon Newspaper IndexIndexes the Oregonian (Portland, 1852-1937) as well as the University of Oregon student newspaper, The Daily Emerald, and The Register-Guard (Eugene).
- Eugene Register GuardRegister Guard's free website offering selected news coverage. Also offers fee-based article delivery of Register Guard articles from 2001 to the present.
- Salem Statesmans JournalWeb site of the Statesmans Journal provides selected content.
3 Paths to News Video
Portland Newspapers
Selected newspapers in the Portland area:
- Asian ReporterPacific Northwest-based newspaper features international and local northwest news and events with an Asian focus.
- Daily Journal of CommerceCovers construction news, real estate, urban planning, energy, and transportation news for the greater Portland, Oregon metropolitan area. PSU faculty/staff/students please log in with your PSU (ODIN) ID to view username/password. Visitors please contact the Reference Desk.
- Historic Black Newspapers of PortlandNewspapers published by Black-owned presses in Portland and the Pacific Northwest from the 1910s to the 1980s
- Portland Business Journal
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Portland Business Journal (and other city business journals) and Book of Lists. You must create an individual account to access.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create an account using your PDX email
- Portland MercuryLocal news, politics, and gossip.
- Portland ObserverLocal paper committed to cultural diversity.
- Portland TribuneLocal paper with news, politics, and opinion.
- The SkannerAdvancing the Black Press in the Pacific Northwest.
- Street RootsStreet Roots — published weekly in Portland, Oregon — has been Portland's flagship publication addressing homelessness and poverty since 1998.
- Willamette WeekLocal news and politics.
The Oregonian
- OregonianProvide the Oregonian from 1987 for text access and 2017 for image access until present day.
- Oregonian -- Historical Backfile 1861-2018Contains archival, full text articles of the Oregonian from 1861 to 2018, presented in image format as they appeared in the newspaper.
- Oregonian Newspaper Index Search (1852-1987)Indexes citations to Oregonian articles published from 1852 to 1987.
Print and microform holdings:
The PSU Library has microfilm holdings of the Oregonian from 1862 - 2018 (AN .O74; 2nd floor).
The print paper is received on the Oregonian's print delivery days: Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday. The print papers are shelved in the newspapers section on the 2nd floor of the Library. The print copies are retained until the microfilm is received (about a three month lag).