BA 495 Business Strategy: Country
Country Statistics: Library Databases
Recommended
- Passport (by Euromonitor)
This link opens in a new window
Contains extensive statistics and analyses on countries, industries, companies, and consumers. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Click Reports on the top navigation bar, then click Country Reports. - Europa World and/or the Regional Surveys of the WorldCovers political and economic information about countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Others
- IMF DataData from the International Monetary Fund. Includes International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payments Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and more. As of Jan 1, 2015, IMF data are freely available.
- OECD iLibraryProvides full text access to books, journals, and statistical databases produced by Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's (OECD) online library.
Country Profiles
General information and analytical reports on a country, may include PESTLE analysis, SWOT analysis, risk assessment, forecast, business environment, etc. Coverage varies by country.
- Global InsightsCountry profiles with data and analyses, including links to major external sites.
- Country Reports (via Business Source Premier -- Enhanced)Select Country Reports, then click on Country to find available reports on a particular country.
- Passport (by Euromonitor)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains extensive statistics and analyses on countries, industries, companies, and consumers. - Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Select a country in the drop-down menu under Country Profile (lower right hand side of landing page). - EIU Viewpoint (Economist Intelligence Unit)Reports on country commerce, country finance, and doing business in various countries. Now called EIU Viewpoint
- Europa World and/or the Regional Surveys of the WorldCovers political and economic information about countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Country Statistics: Free Websites
- World Bank DataFree data sets and research reports from World Bank, including World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, World Development Report, Global Economic Monitor, and more.
- eurostatData and reports on the EU and candidate countries. Topics include population, economy, finance, industry, trade, transportation, environment, energy, science, and more.
- Census - International ProgramsTabular data for countries and regions (demographic indicators, population pyramids, etc.) between 1950 and 2050 (projection).
- International Economic StatisticsProvides links to individual indicators (such as GDP and CPI) for each country, as well as a detailed description of the data. Descriptions are searchable by title, country, subject, and keyword.
- International Labor Comparison by Bureau of Labor StatisticsInternational comparison of the labor markets in selected countries. Data include employment in different sectors, unemployment, hourly compensation costs, etc.
- ILOSTATInternational labor statistics by International Labour Office. Data include employment, unemployment, wages, etc.
- UNCTAD StatisticsStats by UN Conference on Trade and Development. It provides data on trade, economy, foreign direct investment, external financial resources, population/labor, commodities, information economy, creative economy, and maritime transport.
- UNdataData sets from multiple international organizations; topics include energy, environment, finance, industry, labor, trade, and more.
Culture/Social Enviroment
While "culture" is often considered enduring, some countries (e.g., China) have gone through dramatic changes in the past decade or more. Evaluate the currency of the information (e.g., descriptions about cultures and social customs from books published 20 years ago may or may not be accurate anymore). Consult recent books, articles, or websites to get a better picture of a country's culture.
- globalEDGEGo to the Culture section of a country's profile.
- Passport SeriesA collection of ebooks from World Trade Press.
For more information on culture, communication, and business etiquette, search with the following keywords in the library catalog:
- intercultural communication
- intercultural communication [country], * e.g., [Japan]
- national characteristics [people] * e.g., [Japanese]
- business etiquette
- business etiquette [country] * e.g., [Japan]
- negotiation in business [country]
- business communication [country]
- corporate culture [country]
- manners and customs