BA 311 Marketing Management: Industry
Research Tips
There are three main sources for industry information:
- Industry reports/profiles through Library databases: relatively comprehensive overview (e.g., size, forecast, main players, current issues). A very new or niche industry may not have a dedicated report.
- Industry associations: may provide unique data and analysis not available elsewhere and some information may be free on the website.
- General media: newspapers, business magazines, trade publications, industry blogs. Use them to be informed of current developments related to an industry. They are especially useful if one cannot find a dedicated industry report. Use library article databases or do a Google search.
Which industry does your company operate in?
Most library databases that provide Company Profiles will include the primary industry (and sometimes secondary industries) the company is in.
In Business Insights: scroll down a company profile to the industry section
In Mergent Online:
In IBISWorld, type in your company's name (or a main player's name if your company doesn't yield good results) to find relevant industry information:
Industry/Trade Associations
An industry association is established to advocate for the industry and associated companies. They collect and provide unique data/articles/reports. Sometimes these sources are on their websites for free.
To find the industry association websites:
- Do a Google search with keywords followed by "association".
- Industry profiles in library databases may have a section for related associations. For example, in the IBISWorld report, look under the External Environment -> Assistance -> Non-government section.
Market Shares
If you don't find market share information in secondary sources such as databases and websites, you may calculate an estimated market share. Divide your company's sales (if your company has only one type of product) or your product's sales (if your company has multiple products) by industry revenue (available in the Economic Census) or industry profiles.
Recommended
- IBISWorld
This link opens in a new window
Company shares are available in the industry report under the tab Major Companies. - Mintel
- This link opens in a new window
Market shares for companies, brands, or other criteria (e.g., flavors for beverages) are available under Brand/Company and/or Data -> Appendix -- Key Players. - Passport (by Euromonitor)
- This link opens in a new window
Company or brand shares available as standalone data tables or embedded in relevant industry reports. - Business Source Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Industry reports have market shares for main players. Articles may have market shares for companies or brands. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics from over 18,000 free and proprietary sources on a wide range of topics such as business, media, and demographics.
Others
- Business Insights: Global
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the resource Market Share Reporter. - SMA: Sports Market Analytics (formerly SBRNet: Sport Business Research Network)
- This link opens in a new window
Under Consumer Expenditure in the report (e.g., Archery), there might be company or brand shares.
Industry Profiles & Market Research Reports
Recommended:
- Mintel
- This link opens in a new window
Maintains market research reports and consumer demographic/lifestyle profiles covering U.S. and international marketplaces. - Passport (by Euromonitor)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains extensive statistics and analyses on countries, industries, companies, and consumers. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics from over 18,000 free and proprietary sources on a wide range of topics such as business, media, and demographics. - Business Insights: Global
- This link opens in a new window
Provides company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, investment reports, articles, financials, and case studies. - Business Source Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information.
Others:
- Investext (via Mergent Online)
- This link opens in a new window
Analyst reports. Type "industry reports" under "Report Style" and industry keyword (e.g, artificial intelligence) under Keywords. - Automotive News Data CenterMaintains international statistics on the automotive market including sales, production, inventory, and incentives. PSU faculty/staff/students please log in with your PSU (ODIN) ID to view username/password. Visitors please contact the Reference Desk.
- SMA: Sports Market Analytics (formerly SBRNet: Sport Business Research Network)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of market segmentation for sporting goods, sports e-commerce, sports marketing, sports sponsorship, and sports facilities as well as articles on sports broadcasting and social media.
Market Size
Market research reports databases like IBISWorld, Mintel, Passport, and Statista may have information on market size.
However, it's not always easy to find size information on a narrow/niche or emerging markets. When that happens, search for Business Source Premier and Nexis Uni to see if the info is mentioned in articles. Industry associations often provide estimates. Google is great at picking up news, blog posts, and press releases that may mention specific numbers.
You may also need to infer from broader market data and come up with your own estimates, esp. for new products/services that don't exist yet. Below are tutorials tutorials on how to size a market:
Select Reference Books on Specific Industries
- NSGA Reports & StatisticsReports and datasets from National Sporting Goods Association. Includes: Sports Participation in the US (2019-), Sports Participation Lifecycle Demographics (2019-), Gen Z Shopper Playbook (2022), Shopper Playbook (2015), and The Sporting Goods Market (2019).