Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Portland State Library Special Collections
Special Collections is home to over 5,500 rare, unique or historically significant items dating from the 15th century to the present and encompassing a broad range of formats including books, journals, manuscripts, papers and records, photographs, maps, comic books, audio-visual material, realia and ephemera.
Worldwide Art Catalog Collection
The Library receives catalogs from major art exhibitions all over the world, including exhibits of the work of architects. The catalogs are classified at N405 W6 (3rd floor). Each one has an individual accession number by which it can be located on the shelf.
The Worldwide Bibliography of Art Exhibition Catalogs
The Worldwide Bibliography of Art Exhibition Catalogs is a 3 volume index to the collection up to 1987.
Z5939 .W675 1992 | 5th floor
The ARTstor Digital Library, a non-profit resource, consists of images in art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Other Libraries with Architecture Resources
Professional Organizations and Learned Societies
The American Architectural Foundation
The American Architectural Foundation (AAF) is a nonprofit educational organization dedicated to cultivating the public's understanding of architecture and the human experience.
The American Institute of Architects
National professional association of architects. Includes career center, book store, continuing education, AIA chapters.
American Society of Landscape Architects
Founded in 1899, ASLA is the national professional association for landscape architects, representing 17,000 members in 48 professional chapters and 68 student chapters.
The Architecture Institute, Inc.
Architecture Research Institute promotes cross-disciplinary research in design and urban planning that informs public policies and strategies that create livable, compact, global cities that are eco-sustainable, walkable and less automobile dependent.
The National Institute of Building Sciences
The National Institute of Building Sciences is a non-profit, non-governmental organization that successfully brings together representatives of government, the professions, industry, labor and consumer interests, and regulatory agencies to focus on the identification and resolution of problems and potential problems that hamper the construction of safe, affordable structures for housing, commerce and industry throughout the United States.
Society of Architectural Historians
The Society of Architectural Historians promotes the study and preservation of the built environment worldwide.
Quality Web Sources in Architecture
Art History: Resources on the Web
Covers current links to authoritative sites about world art history. An award winning site for research, learning, and innovation.
This selective site is a a gathering point for networked resources on Art and Architecture. Includes pointers to resources around the net as well as original materials submitted by librarians, artists, and art historians.
A web resource on UK architecture and construction. The opening page is a pictoral chronology of British architecture and architects. Also has pages for UK Award winners, Construction Index, Doors Resource, and Useful links for British architecture and construction
Archiplanet is a community-constructed collection for all the buildings, building users, and building creators on planet Earth.
Archnet is a globally-accessible, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world.
Building Oregon: Architecture of Oregon and the Pacific Northwest provides approximately 20,000 images with accompanying documentation about the architectural heritage of the Pacific Northwest with special emphasis on Oregon’s historic sites and built environment.
Cyburbia: Urban Planning Community
Cyburbia, established in 1994, is the Internet's oldest portal and social networking site for urban planners and others interested in cities and the built environment.
Cyburbia includes a very active message board (almost 500,000 messages to date), an image hosting gallery, syndicated feeds of hundreds of planning-related weblogs, and a selective directory of Internet resources relevant to planning and urbanism.
The Great Buildings Collection
This gateway to architecture around the world and across history documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, with 3D models, photographic images and architectural drawings, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds.
Oregon Historic Sites Database
The database documents National Register sites