Architecture: Find Articles
Core Online Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your architecture research.
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsIndexes articles about architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.
- Gale OneFile Fine ArtsProvides full text magazines and scholarly journals in the fine arts and music.
- BuildingGreenAn authoritative online resource for reliable content on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings.
- RIBA catalogThe British Architectural Library Catalogue online is an index to articles in over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals, details of books and audio visual materials acquired by the RIBA Library|, including information on books available for loan to RIBA members.
Related Resources
While not specifically architecture resources, depending on your topic, these could be excellent sources.
- America: History and LifeIncludes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
- Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)Provides citations to articles and reproductions from Art Index, 1929-1984. Covers all forms of art from antiquity to the twentieth century.
- Bibliography of the History of ArtProvides abstracts for articles and books on European and American art from late antiquity to the present.
- Compendex (Historical)Historical access to citations and abstracts for engineering and the applied sciences from 1884-1969.
- Design and Applied Arts IndexProvides indexing for design and applied arts literature, reviews, and news from 1973 to the present.
- Dissertations and Masters Theses Global (ProQuest)Maintains citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations from 1997 to the present along with citations and abstracts for selected masters theses from 1962 to the present. Includes subject, title, and author indexing to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present.
Multidisciplinary Resources
- Academic Search PremierProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Web of ScienceMaintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
- Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges. - JSTORContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
- Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents.
Find it @ PSU
If the article citation does not include links to the full text, click on the Find it @ PSU button to check availability. Find it @ PSU is the link to the full text article or the call number and location for the print article.
If the PSU Library does not hold the article online or in print, order it through Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.
Journal Title Search
Find a Specific Article
If you have an article citation, see whether or not the PSU Library holds the full text or print article:
1. Use Google Scholar from the PSU Library web site, enter the title of the article in the search box.
2. If the article is available in full text or print, click on Find it @ PSU.
3. The Download Article link provides the full text article, the journal level for it, or the call number for the article in print.
If PSU Library does not have the article in full text or in print, order the article from Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.
Scholarly, Professional, Popular?
The first thing you should do when you have a research assignment is figure out what types of article sources are required or allowed. Some professors require you to use only scholarly peer-reviewed journals while others might let you use professional journals (also known as trade journals.
Scholarly article - written by an expert in the field and reviewed by peers who are experts in the same area. In many databases, you can limit your search to scholarly, peer-reviewed or refereed journals to weed out any non-scholarly content.
Professional/trade article - Trade or professional journals can have articles written by experts in the field or by staff writers. The articles are only reviewed by editors for style, so they go through a less rigorous review process. The articles often do not contain reference lists.
Popular journals - Written for a general audience rather than for professionals or scholars. Examples include The New Yorker, People, and Rolling Stone.