Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. Politics Resources
In addition to the resources listed on the Find Articles page of this guide, the following may help enhance your research related to U.S. Politics.
America: History and Life
Includes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
American State Papers
Presents the digitized edition of legislative and executive documents of the U.S.Congress from the late 18th and early 19th centuries.
Early American Newspapers I, II, and III
Covers early American newspapers, a major primary source for American history. Provides unprecedented access to the nation's newspapers from 1690 to 1876. Series I covers 1690-1876, while series II and III cover 1821-1876.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Covers the field of homeland security, which includes topics such as terrorism, public health, borders and immigration, intelligence, civil liberties, weapons and the military.
Military & Government Collection
Comprised of full text magazine and newspaper articles on national/international policy and politics, public administration, political science, international relationships, national and global security, law enforcement, and the military branches. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Plowshares: Digital Archive for Peace Studies
Archives primary documents such as minutes, diaries, correspondence, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals from the 1700s to the present. Chronicles the social justice efforts of the students and faculty of Earlham, Goshen, and Manchester colleges as well as the members of their affiliated historic peace-churches; the Quakers, Mennonites and the Church of the Brethren.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000, Scholar's Edition
Maintains primary source documents and historical interpretations focusing on women in American social movements.
Contains full text scholarly and peer-reviewed articles covering all areas of law. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Contains citations and full text to U.S. legislative information from 1970 to the present, with additional coverage of Congressional hearings from 1824 to 1979.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Maintains abstracts and datasets for public opinion survey results from U.S. academic, commercial, and media opinion surveys. Download of datasets from Roper require that users create an account using a PSU email address.
World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966
Features videos and full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Closed captions and/or interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.
Oregon and Local Resources
Pacific Northwest State and Local Resources
A gateway to state and local information for Oregon, Washington, Idaho and Montana.
The official State of Oregon website.
Oregon Blue Book
The official state directory and fact book about all levels of government in Oregon. Published since 1911, it is produced and updated by the Oregon State Archives.
Read All About It, Oregon
A new blog that highlights newsworthy Oregon government information.
Special Collections & University Archives
With the assistance of the Departments of Political Science and History, Special Collections holds papers of various Oregon politicians including Avel Gordly, Barbara Roberts, Gretchen Kafoury and others.