EC 596/597 Graduate Student Research Resources: Articles, Working Papers, Reports
This guide assists students enrolled in EC 596/597
Academic/Scholarly Articles
- EconLitProvides citations and abstracts of international journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics.
- Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Working Papers
Working papers are a unique type of academic publication that exists to share preliminary research to elicit feedback. Peer-reviewed journal articles frequently require considerable time to publish (due to the peer-review process); working papers, though sometimes also peer reviewed, are designed to be published more swiftly. One can review the working papers to get an idea of current research topics or trends.
- EconLitProvides citations and abstracts of international journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics.
- Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN)Features academic networks for many disciplines in the social sciences. Includes a database with abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers. Also includes a paper collection of full-text documents.
- RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)"RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 102 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers. The collected data are then used in various services that serve the collected metadata to users or enhance it."
- IZA Discussion Paper Series"The IZA Discussion Paper Series (ISSN: 2365-9793) disseminates high-quality research by IZA network members to the scientific community and the interested public worldwide before they are later published in academic journals. Comprising over 13,000 papers, IZA's publication flagship is the most influential working paper series in labor economics."
- NBER Working Paper SeriesFeatures full text, working papers by the National Bureau of Economics Research programs.
- International Monetary Fund working papers"The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 190 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world."
- World Bank Policy Research Working Papers"The World Bank Policy Research Working Paper Series encourages the exchange of ideas on development and quickly disseminates the findings of research in progress. This series is aimed at showcasing World Bank research—analytic work designed to produce results with wide applicability across countries or sectors. The authors are exclusively World Bank staff and consultants."
Reports, Country Reports, and News
- Policy CommonsProvides indexed access to government grey literature and reports from national and international governmental agencies.
- PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)Covers public affairs, public and social policy, and international relations. Includes national and international journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, and pertinent web sites.
- OpenGreyContains information on grey literature produced in Europe. Covers science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science and the humanities.
- OECD iLibraryProvides full text access to books, journals, and statistical databases produced by Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's (OECD) online library.
- EIU Viewpoint (Economist Intelligence Unit)Reports on country commerce, country finance, and doing business in various countries. Now called EIU Viewpoint
- Business Source Premier (Enhanced Business Searching Interface)Country reports. Country Profiles include PESTLE analysis.
- Passport (by Euromonitor)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains extensive statistics and analyses on countries, industries, companies, and consumers. - Economist Historical Archive 1843-2015Maintains the Economist full text, the British weekly newspaper that focuses on business, international events, and opinion pieces.
- The EconomistLimited access to current articles (1988-). PSU does NOT have a full subscription.
- U.S. Major DailiesProvides full text access to: The Chicago Tribune (1985-present), The Los Angeles Times (1985-present), The New York Times (1980-present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and The Washington Post (1987-present). Closed captions are available. Interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.
Other Databases
Interdisciplinary Databases:
- Academic Search PremierProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- JSTORContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
- Web of ScienceMaintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
- ProjectMuseIndexes citations for books and articles as wells as full text articles and ebooks from scholarly presses.
- Gale Academic OneFileCovers scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences as well as news articles.
Databases in other disciplines: