OHSU-PSU Joint School of Public Health: Topics in Public Health
Books on Public Health (PSU)
Health, Civilization and the State by Call Number: RA424 .P67 1999 - 5th FloorISBN: 0415122449Publication Date: 1999-01-06
Evidence-Based Public Health by Call Number: RA427 .E954 2011 - 5th FloorISBN: 9780195397895
Sickness and Health in America by Call Number: R151 .S5 1997 - 5th FloorISBN: 0299153207Publication Date: 1997-05-15
Books on Public Health (OHSU)
Researching Public Health Topics
In addition to using the databases listed on the Data Sources, Databases & Statistics page of this guide, you may want to use specific resources for searching in some topical areas related to public health. See the resources listed below.
Environmental Health & Safety
When research for environmental health topics, consider using keywords related to the topic. For example:
pollution
air quality
water quality
toxicology
- Environment Complete (PSU)Covers areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts,and urban planning.
Epidemiology & Biostatistics
- Sage Research Methods Online (PSU)Contains full text Sage research methods books, handbooks, and encyclopedias. Videos and interactive mapping tools are available.
When researching epidemiological and biostatistics health topics, consider using keywords related to the topic. For example:
statistics
data
epidemiology
incidence of disease
prevalence of disease
- OpenEpiOpenEpi provides statistics for counts and measurements in descriptive and analytic studies, stratified analysis with exact confidence limits, matched pair and person-time analysis, sample size and power calculations, random numbers, sensitivity, specificity and other evaluation statistics, R x C tables, chi-square for dose-response, and links to other useful sites.
Health Disparities & Social Determinants of Health
When researching the social determinants of health, consider using keywords related to the topic. For example:
equity
social justice
justice
- Social Services Abstracts (PSU)Citations to research focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Sociological Abstracts (PSU)Citations to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Health Management & Policy
When researching health management and policy, consider using keywords related to the topic. For example:
health administration
policy
health management
law
healthcare reform
- PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) (PSU)Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations - journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, Internet material, etc.
- Oregon Association for Healthcare QualityOregon's association is affiliated with the National Association for Healthcare Quality. Use the web site to find healthcare quality resources.
- Policy Research - Public Administration Research GuideFind more in depth policy research resources on the Policy Research page of the Public Administration Research Guide.
Health Promotion
When researching for health promotion topics, consider using keywords related to the topic. For example:
education
consumer health
community health services
- ERIC (PSU)Teaching, learning, schools, educational policy; article citations, full text of non-peer reviewed documents.
- ERIC (OHSU)The world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. A database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966, including more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents issued between 1993-2004.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition (PSU)Article citations and many full text articles from popular health and medicine journals.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition (OHSU)Provides full text for over 280 health periodicals, nearly 1,200 health pamphlets, and 20 health reference books.
International Health
When researching for international health topics, consider using keywords related to the topic. For example:
global health
international health
(country or continent name)
development
- World Health OrganizationFind publications, reports, data, and statistics compiled and written by the World Health Organization.
- Global Health (OHSU)The Global Health database covers the following aspects of human health and disease: communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology, human nutrition, community and public health, as well as medicine and poisonous plants.
- PLoS MedicinePLOS Medicine is a peer-reviewed, international, open-access journal publishing important original research and analysis relevant to human health.
Occupational Health
When researching for occupational health topics, consider using keywords related to the topic. For example:
workplace health
workplace wellness
toxicology
work-oriented health
- HazMapInformation on Hazardous Chemicals and Occupational Diseases. Free web access.
- Oregon Occupational Safety and Health AdministrationUse the Oregon OSHA web site to find statistics and reports from the state of Oregon.