OHSU-PSU Joint School of Public Health: Data Sources, Databases, & Articles
Databases at OHSU
A select list of databases available at OHSU. For a complete list visit OHSU Library's Databases page. When attempting to retrieve full-text of articles, use the 
button. From off campus you will be asked to login using your last name and OHSU Library barcode.
- PubMedFree MEDLINE, keyed to full text articles in over 400 electronic journals held by OHSU. Links to "OHSU Holdings" appear on article abstracts for those journals accessible to OHSU patrons.
- MEDLINE (Ovid)Clinical and research aspects of medicine/life sciences.
- CINAHLCINAHL with Full Text is a comprehensive source of citations and full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 580 journals indexed in CINAHL. Coverage dates back to 1981.
- Cochrane LibraryA source for evidence based healthcare information. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematics Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database. Available in PDF format.
- PsycINFODatabase of the psychological literature, including journals, books, and dissertations. Links to the full text of all APA journals. Uses the Ovid interface.
Free Data Sources on the Web
- Oregon Public Health - Data & StatisticsData and statistics from the Oregon Health Authority.
- National Center for Health StatisticsRich source of information about Americas health. As the Nations principal health statistics agency, [NCHS] compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of [US Citizens].
- Health Care: Data and Surveys (AHRQ)Data and surveys from the Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality.
- PH Partners Health Data ToolsProvides a list of data and statistical resources for public health practitioners from government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries.
- OpenEpiOpenEpi provides statistics for counts and measurements in descriptive and analytic studies, stratified analysis with exact confidence limits, matched pair and person-time analysis, sample size and power calculations, random numbers, sensitivity, specificity and other evaluation statistics, R x C tables, chi-square for dose-response, and links to other useful sites.
Databases at PSU
A select list of databases available at PSU. For a complete list visit PSU Library's Databases page. When attempting to retrieve full-text articles, click on the 
button. From off campus you will be asked to login with your ODIN account to access these databases. You may also wish to view the Community Health research guide for further database suggestions.
- PubMed (Interface for MEDLINE)
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in all areas of medical practice and research from 1953 to the present. - AgeLine
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles and other materials related to aging. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic editionPresents article citations and full text articles from health and medicine journals.
- PsycINFOMaintains citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations in psychology about human behavior from 1879 to the present. Nearly 2500 journals are indexed in PsycINFO, and the database is updated weekly.
- Sage Research Methods OnlineContains full text, Sage research methods books, handbooks, and encyclopedias. Includes videos and interactive mapping tools.
Data Sources at PSU
- Sage DataContains national, state-level, and local level historical data for the areas of agriculture, crime and law enforcement, defense, economy, education, employment and labor, energy and environment, geography, government finances, health, households and housing, political science, population, social welfare as well as transportation. Replaces Sage Stats.
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)Archives social science data that includes aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science as well as public and mental health.
- Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to access current and historical U.S. Census data and demographic information. It contains maps, profile reports, data elements, and variables. - OECD iLibraryProvides full text access to books, journals, and statistical databases produced by Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's (OECD) online library.
- PolicyMap
- This link opens in a new window
Provides mapping, data, and analytics tools on U.S. demographics, real estate, health, jobs, education, and more topics. Mapping allows for multiple layers and editable data ranges.