In addition to using the databases listed on the Data Sources, Databases & Statistics page of this guide, you may want to use specific resources for searching in some topical areas related to public health. See the resources listed below.
Environmental Health & Safety
When research for environmental health topics, consider using keywords related to the topic. For example:
Contains records from more than 2,000 US and international titles from 1888 (with over 1,350 active core titles). Find full text for more than 900 journals including Environment, Ecologist, and Conservation Biology, and more than 190 books like Encyclopedia of World Environmental History,and Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management.
Contains over 500 book titles including the entire Quantitative and Qualitative Analysis in Social Sciences (QASS), also known as the "Little Green Book" series as well as the Sage research methods handbooks, dictionaries,and encyclopedias. Use the visual Methods Map tool and playlist functionality called SRMO Lists for your research.
When researching epidemiological and biostatistics health topics, consider using keywords related to the topic. For example:
incidence of disease
prevalence of disease
OpenEpi provides statistics for counts and measurements in descriptive and analytic studies, stratified analysis with exact confidence limits, matched pair and person-time analysis, sample size and power calculations, random numbers, sensitivity, specificity and other evaluation statistics, R x C tables, chi-square for dose-response, and links to other useful sites.
Health Disparities & Social Determinants of Health
When researching the social determinants of health, consider using keywords related to the topic. For example:
Citations to research focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Major areas of coverage: community and mental health services; crisis intervention; family and social welfare; gerontology; poverty and homelessness; health policy; addiction; social work; Coverage of journal articles (drawn from more than 1600 journals), dissertations, book reviews from 1980 - present
Citations to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Topics include: culture and social structure; demography; evaluation research; family and social welfare; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organizations; mass phenomena and political interactions; methodology and research; rural and urban sociology; social psychology and group interaction. Coverage of journal articles (drawn from more than 1800 journals), books, book chapters, conference papers, book reviews and dissertations from 1963 - present .
Health Management & Policy
When researching health management and policy, consider using keywords related to the topic. For example:
health administration policy health management
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations - journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, Internet material, etc.101
Citations on topics of public policy and public debate. Coverage of variety of information sources (periodicals, books, hearings, reports, web sites and government documents) from US and international sources.
The world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. A database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966, including more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents issued between 1993-2004.
Health information from 300 consumer health periodicals. Indexing and abstracting for an additional 300 journals. Covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc. Coverage varies by title with some journals extending back to 1985.
The Global Health database covers the following aspects of human health and disease: communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology, human nutrition, community and public health, as well as medicine and poisonous plants.