Archaeology   Tags: anth  

Sources for research in archaeology
Last Updated: Sep 15, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.pdx.edu/archaeology Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library DIY: Quick Research Help When You Need It!

Have a quick research question? Need help getting unstuck? Try Library DIY, a system designed to answer the questions librarians frequently get at the reference desk. It was created to help you quickly get the answers you need whenever and wherever you need them so that you can get back to your work and your life.

 

Library Help

Chat link  Email link  Phone link  Text link  DIY link

 

In This Guide

Archaeology is the study of human cultures through the examination of physical artifacts. This guide will help you begin your research in all areas related to archaeology through the libraries' collections and beyond.

Use the tabs to navigate through the following pages of the guide:

Archeology Site - Outside Southwest Corner Temple Mount - Jerusalem Israel by David King, on Flickr

  • Find Articles - search for articles online and in print. Recommends the best resources for finding archaeology articles.
  • Find Books - find print and eBooks and learn how the library can get you books we don't have in our collection.
  • Reference Works - Get background information on your topic, identify key authors and works, and more by using bibliographies, subject encyclopedias and biographical sources recommended on this page.
  • Primary and Web Sources - data and primary sources related to archaeology that you can mine for your research, videos, professional organizations, scholarly societies and other quality web resources.
  • Citing Sources - Information on citation formats, citation management tools and more.

Core Online Resources

These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your archaeological research.

  • Anthropology Plus  
      

    Indexes articles and essays on anthropology, archaeology, and related fields.

    14
  • Anthrosource  
      

    Provides full text access to selected anthropology journals from the American Anthropological Association (AAA).

    140
  • JSTOR  
      

    Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.

    76
  • Anthropological Index  
      

    Contains articles from international anthropology and archaeology journals from the Royal Anthropological Institute and the Centre for Anthropology, British Museum.

    154
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals  
      

    Indexes articles about architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.

    22
  • Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts - AATA Online  
      

    Consists of abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.

    298
  • Web of Science  
      

    Maintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

    122

Related Guides

Cultural and Linguistic Anthropology
by Beth Pickard - Last Updated Sep 15, 2014
Research sources in cultural and linguistic anthropology
740 views this year
Physical Anthropology
by Beth Pickard - Last Updated Sep 15, 2014
Guide for students and faculty researching topics related to physical/biological anthropology.
277 views this year