Art History: Home
In This Guide
This guide will help you begin your research in art through the library's collections and beyond.
Use the tabs to navigate through the following pages of the guide:
- Find Articles - search for articles online and in print.
- Find Books - find print and eBooks.
- Reference Works - get background information on your topic, identify key authors and works, and more by using bibliographies, subject encyclopedias and biographical sources.
- Primary and Web Sources - quality web resources in the field of art.
- Cite Sources - information on citation formats, citation management tools and more.
Also, don't forget to check out "How to Guides and Tutorials" from your library for more!
Core Online Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your research.
- Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts - AATA OnlineConsists of abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
- ARTbibliographies ModernProvides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews of modern and contemporary art from the late 19th century to the present.
- Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)Provides citations to articles and reproductions from Art Index, 1929-1984. Covers all forms of art from antiquity to the twentieth century.
- Arts and Humanities FulltextProvides full text journal access to content in the arts and humanities.
- Bibliography of the History of ArtProvides abstracts for articles and books on European and American art from late antiquity to the present.
- Fine Arts and Music CollectionProvides full text magazines and scholarly journals in the fine arts and music.
- International Bibliography of ArtProvides indexing for the scholarly literature on 20th century art.
Art History Librarian
Subjects: Art & Art History, Film, World Languages & Literatures