Film Studies: Home
Welcome to the Library!
Portland State Library is centrally located on the south park blocks. We offer comfortable study spaces, reservable study rooms, computers, printing, and library collections.
Check our website for current hours. Your PSU ID card is required to enter the building.
Visit the Circulation Desk to check out course reserves, materials, laptops, and other equipment.
Get help right away via Ask a Librarian.
In This Guide
This guide will help you begin your research in film studies through the library's collections and beyond. Use the tabs to navigate through the following pages of the guide:
- Find Articles - search for articles online and in print. Also provides access to core databases for film studies.
- Find Books - find print and eBooks.
- Reference Works - get background information on your topic, identify key authors and works, and more by using bibliographies, subject encyclopedias and biographical sources.
- Primary and Web Sources - quality web resources and primary sources for film, television and radio.
- Citation & Writing - information on citation formats, citation management tools and more.
("Prarie Home Companion" by Andrew Yee is licensed under CC BY 2.0" by tvol is licensed under CC BY 2.0
Core Online Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your film, television & radio research.
-
Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing of publications related to film and television studies.
-
FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing to periodical literature about film and cinema.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books about world literature, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1921 to the present.
-
Gale OneFile Fine Arts This link opens in a new windowProvides full text magazines and scholarly journals in the fine arts and music.
-
Arts and Humanities Fulltext This link opens in a new windowProvides full text journal access to content in the arts and humanities.
-
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowExcellent resource for film reviews published in the major U.S. newspapers.
-
Communication Source This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from global titles pertaining to many fields of communication studies.
-
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and full text coverage of performing arts.
-
American Film Institute Catalog This link opens in a new windowProvides film history on American cinema from 1893 to the present.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Finding Streaming Films @ PSU Library
Your Librarian
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
- Contact a librarian 24/7 using our chat services.
- Email questions will receive a response in one business day.
- You can get help in person at the research help desk, 1st floor of the Library these days and times.